Bullying in Schools

Do you have a query on how to get things done in Andalucia, where to find things, who to call? Find out by posting and hear about others experiences.
Raquel
Andalucia.com Amigo

Bullying in Schools

Postby Raquel » Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:45 pm

Hi everyone

This is my first time on this forum I've lived in Andalucia for six years and in five weeks we are moving to England, which we are looking forward too.

One of the main reasons that we are moving is because of my daughters unhappiness in school. Even though she has attended Spanish schools since she was five (she's now eleven) and can speak Spanish fluently she was subjected to constant bullying, racist remarks, verbal abuse and violence which the teachers constantly turned a blind eye too. The last straw was last February when after constant abuse everyday, death threats and violence (pushed down the stairs) she came home from school and said that a boy who was much bigger than her kicked her in the stomach and punched her in the head twice whilst the head-teacher was standing next to them. I immediately removed her from the school and was very disappointed with the schools general attitude as they seemed to think that it was nothing to worry about. Along with this her grades had dropped as the teacher basically had no interest in teaching her and the other English girl in her class, I then found out that he used to refer to her as 'the foreign child' in my eyes this is racism.

I would like to know if anyone here has had similar experiences, as a lot of other parents I have spoken to in the area have similar stories and the other English kids in the school have since left.

MiriamO
Andalucia.com Amigo

Postby MiriamO » Sat Jul 08, 2006 11:26 pm

What a terrible tale. Which part of Andalucia are you living in at the moment?