Single parents in spain

Pregnant, giving birth, looking for nurseries, schools, or simply want to share advice with other parents in Andalucia? Find out more on this forum.
rosiej85

Single parents in spain

Postby rosiej85 » Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:47 pm

does any1 have any experiences of moving to spain as a single mother of a 3 year old??? Could any1 give me any general advice?

silver
Andalucia Guru

Postby silver » Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:11 pm

When you have children..be single or a couple..you would need to have funds to back you..as permanent work is very rare ... if earning money is not a problem...then go for it.
No muerdes la mano que te da de comer.

rosiej85

TEFL

Postby rosiej85 » Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:16 pm

i have a tefl diploma, i have found a few job vacancies online but how readily available once i am in spain?? and does any1 have any experience of this kind of work?

Plus I have read that some UK benefits such as income support, can be transferred, any info???

silver
Andalucia Guru

Postby silver » Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:31 pm

tefl diploma,
well you just might get lucky...teaching English is one of the jobs that is almost always available.
No muerdes la mano que te da de comer.

Bongtrees
Andalucia Guru

Re: TEFL

Postby Bongtrees » Mon Oct 30, 2006 6:47 pm

rosiej85 wrote:
Plus I have read that some UK benefits such as income support, can be transferred, any info???
From the gov. web site
If you are going abroad permanently you cannot get Income Support. If your stay abroad is temporary, you may be able to get Income Support for the first 4 weeks you are abroad.

You will also lose child benefit as is not transferable to Spain.

katy
Andalucia Guru

Postby katy » Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:25 pm

They often advertise for TEFL teachers, the pay is rubbish and the hours flexible (to their advantage of course) maybe a couple of hours in the morning and another two in the evening.

rosiej85

tefl

Postby rosiej85 » Tue Oct 31, 2006 1:58 am