I would like to join a local band/orchestra

Suggestions and comments for entertainment, nightlife, ferias and culture in Andalucia.
scouser
Andalucia.com Amigo

I would like to join a local band/orchestra

Postby scouser » Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:52 pm

Hi all

I've recently moved to the Valez Malaga region. I play French Horn and would like to join a local adult band/orchestra in this area. I drive so don't mind having to travel. I'm an amateur and have played in wind bands and brass bands since I was a teenager. I reached grade 8 but my standard has slipped over the years due to lack of practise. I'm probably about grade 5 standard.

Does anyone here have any contacts in amateur musical circles?

Thanks.

campocaro1
Andalucia.com Amigo

Re: I would like to join a local band/orchestra

Postby campocaro1 » Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:34 pm

Most local town halls (ayuntamiento) have a 'cultura' department who organise things like music classes for kids and adults. You sign up each September and pay per term -it's good value . Some have bands and small orchestras. My small village (Cadiz province) is organised like this and we have a thriving music centre -we go to piano classes and the choir. They also do wind instruments, guitar and percussion.
You can join at the beginning of each term too-our classes started this week.I imagine if you have lots of experience they will welcome you.
In larger areas they may have a 'conservatorio' - all the above but wider range of teachers and instruments not sure how this works-I heard Malaga has a very good one but I'm afraid I don't have any contacts there.Are you near Nerja? They probably have quite a few music societies and groups.
Good luck-I hope you find something.We sing together with our village band and perform at least three times a year -it's great fun and a really good way to meet people.

frank
Andalucia Guru

Re: I would like to join a local band/orchestra

Postby frank » Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:42 pm