Gardening Ideas

Are you looking for information or help in the garden. Post your agriculture, flora and fauna questions, suggestions and comments here.
deb
Andalucia.com Amigo

Gardening Ideas

Postby deb » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:30 pm

After spending the last year doing work on the house, i am ready to tackle the garden, we have garden on three sides of the house which is a blank canvas now that we have dug up what was there. What i would like to create is three small gardens being able to walk from one to the other. I am thinking my best bet is to use gravel and paving so it is easy to maintain. As i am a novice in gardening i would appreciate any ideas. I live in the campo which can get quite windy at times, so any ideas on what type of plants to use would be great.

Martin Page
Resident

Re: Gardening Ideas

Postby Martin Page » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:11 pm

When I was in the same position as yourself I went to the local parks. This will show you what is the best type of planting suits your local climate and soil conditions.

Do not be tempted to buy what ever the 'garden centres' have in stock - since they buy from such diverse places and typically Holland - and what grows there doesnt necessacerily grow where you are.

And - keep going to the parks as they will show you what treatments and supports and pruning is needed and when. If your Very lucky you may be adopted by the local parks gardener and they will give advice freely and enthusiatically.

Another usefull tip is to do a soil analysis, particularly as to what the pH of the soil is - this effects the types of plants you can grow easily.

murbisa
Resident

Postby murbisa » Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:28 pm

You are so right Martin. We have learn't a lot from wandering round the parks. I love Paloma park in Benamadena and could spend hours there. Especially the cacti garden.