Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Martin Page
Resident
Posts: 1805
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:57 pm
Location: Chiclana de la Frontera - Costa de Luz

Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby Martin Page » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:13 pm

Hi Guys …. Back Again … and Hopefully Cancer Free.

We Have just been upgraded to Full Fibre 100Mbps

Hs anybody configured this router to accept the Smart DNS Directly, rather than configure all the individual Devices .. If So .. Advice please

Martin

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby firsttango » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:48 pm

Its simple to do, just log in to your router via http://192.168.1.1/ on a laptop PC etc using passkey on bottom of router where it says "config router" mine is 8 mixed numbers and letters....once in router go to menu top left then go to red Local, then to config Red Local then input your Smart DNS numbers where it say Servidor DNS1: and Servidor DNS2: then APPLY changes and Reboot router and all devices. As far as I recall thats it. But remember to go to SMART DNS website to Update your IP

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8042
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby Enrique » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:51 pm

Hi Martin,
Good to hear your news.....

fistttango got in first.......thanks

What modem Make/model are they (Movistar) using now for Fiber :?:
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby firsttango » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:57 pm

Mines 18 months old now and is an Askey RTF3505VW......no idea if they have changed model

User avatar
Martin Page
Resident
Posts: 1805
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:57 pm
Location: Chiclana de la Frontera - Costa de Luz

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby Martin Page » Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:01 pm

They obviously have.... Whilst there is no obvious badging for the manufacturer, when I dig down to the configuration settings It shows its a Mitrastar Router. Alas no obvious type identifier. The Movistar Router looks nothing like the two fibre routers showing on the Mitrastar web site

From what I can make out the DNS addresses only seem to apply to IPs start 192.168.1.200 and Finish 192.168.1.233. Which for the smart TV is ok because that's locked at 192.168.1.200 but the other devices are dynamic around the 192.168.1.33 to 192.168.1.199

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby firsttango » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:07 pm

Looking at Movistar website they show they also use the Mitrastar HGW-2501GN-R2. Maybe download the User Manual in English and have a read

northandsouth
Resident
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:00 pm
Location: Casares

Re: Movistar Fibre Router ... Smart DNS Configuration

Postby northandsouth » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:13 pm

Normally movistar fibre routers look exactly the same despite being differing makes. If I remember correctly I heard that someone else (not on this forum) had problems configuring their Mitrastar router, and couldn't find a way to change the DNS on it, the Askey is a piece of cake. in the end they tacked a second router (Netgear) on and configured it with the DNS successfully.


Return to “Computers, Internet, Telephony, TV & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests