W10 upgrade... :O

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
ebbnflow
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:36 pm

W10 upgrade... :O

Postby ebbnflow » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:48 pm

Having a few nightmares with this!

My intention was to clone my existing 60gb SSD to a 120GB SSD. This I did using EaseUS free. That would allow me to upgrade the new drive to Win10 as the older one did not have enough room left. (rather than deleting progs from there to make room) It would also become the backup drive in case of disaster!
The new drive appears in Disk Manager and in This PC.
If I use F12 (gigabyte MB) at post the PC will happily boot from the new drive and all is well. However, the new drive does not appear as a bootable option in the BIOS in order to make it permenantly the first boot drive.
Obviously, if the BIOS cannot see the drive then I can't boot to W10 once upgraded (have tried and failed which lead to the above discovery, Win10 Upgrade created a partition on the drive labled A: which was inaccessable from BIOS or F12).

Any ideas from the resident experts?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8356
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby Enrique » Thu Jul 28, 2016 7:26 am

Hi ebbnflow,
Make and model of the System
Is there a BIOS update for your System
Is the disk being seen on first tab of BIOS
What options are showing in BIOS boot priority
With Windows 10 Upgrade it creates a Recovery partition.

Thanks

:!: :!: Check that Windows 10 has Validated OK :!: :!:

Settings -> Update & Security ->Activation
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

ebbnflow
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby ebbnflow » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi Enrique,

Firstly your data;
MB = Gigabyte B85-HD3
Intel i7-4771 3.5GHz
16 GB RAM
64Bit

The older 60gb SSD (OS) is the first seen in BIOS (as said the new one does not appear) with the files 1TB Hdd as second. Only the two choices.
I have not got as far as Win10 validation and does not appear in settings.
BIOS is the latest (F11) available, Win10 ready.

On starting up today the PC failed to boot, giving me just a black screen and a permanently on LED for a hard drive. Disconnecting the new drive then allowed the PC to boot normally after a very quick self repair. It's running perfectly in its old guise.
The new drive was (last night) also showing a drive letter for the system partition where normally there is no letter.

Many thanks

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8356
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby Enrique » Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:11 pm

Hi,
If I'm reading you right.....
You have old OS 8.1 ??........ on 120GB SSD. set this one up on the Old 60GB SSD SATA port,
Having Disconnected OLD 60GB SSD
Power down , Power up and check BIOS the new 120GB SSD should now be seen.

I take it you haven't done the Upgrade yet............. :?:

If not Download the .ISO file to USB Stick using...........media creation tool

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/softwar ... /windows10

When completed above

Boot up the 120GB SSD .........goto the USB Directory and double click on Setup...........and let the Upgrade begin

Time is running out for Free Upgrade so please Post if you need more info.
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

ebbnflow
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby ebbnflow » Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:40 pm

"You have old OS 8.1 ??........ on 120GB SSD. set this one up on the Old 60GB SSD SATA port"

Forgot about that!!!

10 is now up and running thanks. Lots of tweaking to do now...

I also downloaded and made a USB copy just in case.

Thanks again.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8356
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby Enrique » Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:38 pm

Hi ebbnflow,
Thanks for the update......good to hear you got sorted......don't forget to check Validation .

Good to know we're helping Bill get to his 1billion Windows 10 units.............. :D

Rolled one on today even though it said the Video card wasn't compatible......used the USB .ISO install , then rolled the Windows 8 driver on when completed.
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby gruff » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:03 pm

Um, it's now past 29th, July, the sun came up this morning, has the free Win10 upgrade actually ended?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8356
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby Enrique » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:40 pm

Hi gruff,

Came across this...................

http://www.ghacks.net/2016/07/29/you-ca ... y-29-2016/
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby gruff » Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:06 pm

That's very interesting, thanks Enrique. So it is still available if you know where to look for it. Have to admit I did have to google "assistive technologies".

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8356
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: W10 upgrade... :O

Postby Enrique » Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:42 pm

Hi,
Now you have nice shiny Windows 10 system you may want to get some disk space back, and as flavour of the Month........... Upgrade means Upgrade .........so remove your OLD OS too.......... :D
You may have noticed two Directories...........if you have "Show Hidden" turned on

C:\$Windows.~BT
C:\$Windows.~WS

Please read on how to Remove these...........

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/delete-wi ... windows-10

Your OLD OS is in C:\Windows.old...........this will go in 30 days or you can take it out Today.

On a Typical Windows 8.1 Upgraded to Windows 10..........Disk Space

C:\$Windows.~BT
C:\$Windows.WS..........Circa 3GB

C:\Windows.old + Above ..............Total 19.7GB

On a 1TB disk not a big deal.............but on a 250GB one.............. :D
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.


Return to “Computers, Internet, Telephony, TV & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests