No Internet

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

No Internet

Postby gruff » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:25 pm

I'm with Winet Telecom and have a gubbins on the roof pointing more or less towards Periana. Since I arrived on Thursday I've had no internet access. I thought before going through the painful exercise of phoning Winet I would make sure I've tried everything.

On windows it shows It as "no internet, secured"
I can access my neighbour's internet.
The leds on the router are what they have always been.
I've reseated the plug into the router.
I've checked the gubbins is still on the roof.

Anything I've missed?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:38 pm

Hi gruff,
Has your antenna on the roof got power...... :?: Check the PSU, if possible substitute with neighbours PSU if they are on same system .

Can you login and get a connection on the neighbours system.?, if so that would point to your router or the antenna .
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:48 pm

PSU giving out 24v. I can log in o.k. to my neighbours internet, on it now.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Fri Apr 19, 2019 6:23 pm

Hi,
That last Post...mean you're good on your setup ?
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:38 pm

Sorry Enrique, I don't understand your last comment.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:54 pm

Confused..........That's me

"PSU giving out 24v. I can log in o.k. to my neighbours internet, on it now."...that mean you on your neighbour's or on you own connection.

Just needed to know if you wanted more assistance.
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:41 am

"On it now", that's the confusing phrase. What I meant is I am using my neighbour's internet for this thread.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:58 am

Hi gruff,
Can you post some info on your Network setup so we can have a go at getting you back using.
From the antenna on the roof you have a Ethernet cable coming into the house and plugs into the Wireless Router.......?

Your laptop what OS version of Windows are you running........ ie 7 or 10.........?

Is your neighbour using the same ISP Winet Telecom.......?

While you're getting above info for me, try this...........You will need your Network Password as you're doing a reset. Assuming Windows 10 here.

Disconnect from your neighbour's, try connecting to your network, Right click on your network name and chose Forget.
When is shows a * on the Network Icon (bottom right of system bar) choose your Network name and connect it will ask for the Password for your Wifi.

I'm out until later this evening so will catch up with you then.
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:11 pm

O.k. You are right with the setup. Antenna cable enters wireless router, two power leads, one feeds the router, the other the antenna.
Two laptops with win10, both with same symptoms. When diagnostics run both say "DNS server not responding". Also smartphone running android 4 fails to connect.
I don't believe neighbour on Winet. IHe is not there.
Able to "forget" network and reinstate with password but comes up with "no internet, secured"

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:36 pm

Hi,
Your Win 10 laptops do either have Ethernet Port :?:
If so take the Ethernet cable that comes from the antenna to the router ( Note which Port it's in Router) and plug that directly into Ethernet port on Laptop.

Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change adapter settings
you should see Ethernet and it will connect if the antenna is getting connection from ISP.

If Ethernet Port says Disabled.......Enable it
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

GerryinCajiz
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:45 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: No Internet

Postby GerryinCajiz » Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:42 pm

Has your antenna always pointed towards Periana? Winet have a mast in Iznate that is located near the viewing platform. But of course if you can not see it they will have pointed your antenna to one that is in line of sight.
Gerry

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:52 pm

Fitted lan cable. Control panel - network connections - click on local area connection - no internet access, no network access, media state enabled. Clicked diagnostics and "Possible solution- networking reset - administrator permission required.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:03 pm

Good point Gerry but the antenna has always pointed that way.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:14 pm

Hi Gruff,
That doesn't sound like a Windows 10 system.
What port in the Router dose the Antenna cable go into........LAN or WAN.. :?:

There are a couple of way the ISP's set up their Networks
1) The antenna on the roof acts a Router (Gives DHCP) so the WiFi Router in the House is an Access point. So putting the cable directly into a system Ethernet Port will connect.
2) If the Antenna needs the House Router to to actually give out DHCP then connecting will not connect.

Lets take a step back........... :idea:
Replace antenna cable back in the Router
try to connect to your WiFi............make sure its set to auto connect
Shutdown the laptop......power off
Power off the router
Power off the Antenna
Pause
Power up Antenna
pause
Power up Router
Long pause 5-7 mins
Power up Laptop

Lets know how you get on
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:18 pm

There are 5 ports in the router, 4 orange, 1 blue. The cable is in an orange port
Did as suggested, still "no internet, secured".

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:20 pm

Hi gruff,
Things to try.........Windows 10 laptop
Click on the WiFi icon in system bar.
When the window pops up click on the Blue WiFi it's next to the Flight Mode it will shut the Wifi down, click on it again and you may connect.
If Not type cmd in your search , run as Administrator......... a DOS type window will pop up,
type Ipconfig /flushdns
Then ipconfig /release
followed by ipconfig /renew
type exit to close window
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:47 pm

Went through the procedure. After the release command had message "no operation can be performed on local area connection while it has it's media disconnected". But after exit it gave the impression it was in as it said connected but still unable. After reload back to square one.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:56 am

Hi gruff,
You haven't mentioned that you have phoned your ISP and they have checked out your connection from their Network.

Having got on to neighbour's Network and internet the next call should have been to the ISP.........apologies for not asking this before..... :oops:

The ISP probably shut your Node off as you had been away........
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
gruff
Resident
Posts: 432
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:18 pm
Location: Wakefield and Iznate

Re: No Internet

Postby gruff » Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:49 am

In the UK I am with Talktalk. I'm sure the other ISPs are the same. My experience of getting problems fixed has been dreadful. It's often difficult to understand what they are saying so the idea of me trying to explain my problem in the little Spanish I speak is scary. That is why I wanted to make sure it was not something I had missed. I don't know how much they can see from their end.I also felt that waiting till after the weekend I had a better chance of getting someone who spoke English.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8245
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: No Internet

Postby Enrique » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:48 pm

Hi gruff,
I've a similar system in Spain..........the ISP will be able to check the connection from their end and see what you have connected.

Most Faults I've seen are problems from the ISP.

Don't need much Spanish just look up some relevant phrases......
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.


Return to “Computers, Internet, Telephony, TV & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests