E mailing help please.

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
Busymum
Resident

E mailing help please.

Postby Busymum » Mon Nov 14, 2005 1:11 pm

Wonder if anyone can help.

I have Telefonica broadband and keep trying to email friends in the UK but the message keeps 'bouncing' back. It is just one particular domain I have problems with, don't know if I should name it here as it is a school domain address. I email other people in UK with different accounts with no problems.
Any ideas?
Is it something to do with Telefonica?
Is it me here in Spain with the problem or is it a problem at the UK end? It is an independent school and they do have overseas pupils and I know they do receive emails from other parts of the world so I can't understand, however I am not too technically minded so I might be missing something that is fairly simple to correct!
All help gratefully received!
Steph

Grehan
Andalucia.com Amigo

Postby Grehan » Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:44 pm

1) The first and most obvious thing to check is that you've actually typed in the correct address - typos are very easy. The next connected thing to check is that the email address actually exists, that you've got it exactly right and that it hasn't changed or closed down.
'wrong' addresses are the usual cause of this problem
2) It may be that the ISP you're sending from has a 'bad name' with the school's ISP you're sending to. There was a thread about this a little while ago. AOL rejects all sorts of ISP addresses sending in mail. G*wd knows why, that's just AOL for you.
3) It is almost certainly 99.99% nothing to do with Telefonica and nothing to do with emailing UK from Spain.

[ISP = internet service provider - the firm or system that handles emails, hosts websites, etc etc]

Kitesurfer.
Andalucia.com Amigo

Postby Kitesurfer. » Mon Nov 14, 2005 3:58 pm