Changing UK driving license

Information and questions about driving in Andalucia, buying or importing cars and motorbikes plus legal issues surrounding taxes and licenses.
alpumar
Tourist

Changing UK driving license

Postby alpumar » Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:51 pm

Hola expertos

I am resident in Spain but want to update the address on my UK driving licence ( I do understand the legalities etc of doing this ). I have a postal address in the UK and it looks like I can request a new licence online. My only concern is that the DVLA online instructions clearly state that you must be a UK resident, and I have been declaring myself non-resident on my tax returns for a few years.

Does anyone know if the DVLA will actually check my residency status ?

Thanks in advance.

Alpumar

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru

Re: Changing UK driving license

Postby Beachcomber » Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:52 pm

Yes, people think that all they need is a UK address but, as you say, it quite clearly states that you must be a UK resident.

If DVLA checks your residence status you could find yourself in trouble for making a false declaration to obtain a driving licence which will render it invalid. I don't think it is worth the risk especially as it is so easy now to exchange it for a Spanish one.
Let's go Brandon!

Alan-LaCala
Resident

Postby Alan-LaCala » Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:45 am

Beach is almost certainly correct, but I'll bet no one has ever heard of anyone being prosecuted for using an address in the UK while living abroad. I know a lot of people out here who still have their UK licence.

Alan
Remember that everything that Fred Astaire did, Ginger Rogers did too; except she did it backwards and wearing high heels!

El Cid
Andalucia Guru

Postby El Cid » Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:55 am

There is nothing wrong with having a UK address on your existing UK licence even if you do not live there.

Applying for a new or replacement licence when you are non resident is another matter entirely and is not allowed.