Internet in the campo

Other topics that are not covered in the sections above.
joscelynk
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:18 am

Internet in the campo

Postby joscelynk » Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:53 pm

a friend of mine lives in a remote area without a landline for her telephone and no internet connection. does anyone know of any company who could provide her with an internet connection or if it is possible at all?

Bongtrees
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2341
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: Valencia

Re: Internet in the campo

Postby Bongtrees » Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:30 pm

www.ya.com,,,,,,,,,,,, banda ancha

User avatar
Conehead
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:25 am
Location: Any where but Spain

Postby Conehead » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:06 pm

Depends where she lives!!!!!

Iberbanda have a wireless system which works very well as long as you are in line-of-site with one of there transmitters.

We have been using it for some time with minimum problems. If its possible with Iberbanda I believe they still have the offer of 512kbs plus an Internet phone and free installation for €45/month.

Check the Iberbanda site for coverage.
Due to the high cost of energy, the light at the end of the tunnel will be shut off until further notice.

Nicki
Tourist
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:54 am

Postby Nicki » Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:36 pm

Also Conect4 at www.conecta4.com

Bongtrees
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2341
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: Valencia

Postby Bongtrees » Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:48 pm

Looks like theyare resellers for Ya.com or similar and charging a hefty sum for installation of the dish

prime mover

Postby prime mover » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:32 pm

Cone head, does that include the cost of the chip housing that fits in the side of the computer or is that a seperate cost?

pete_l
Resident
Posts: 809
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:59 pm
Location: Benamaurel, Granada

Re: Internet in the campo

Postby pete_l » Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:36 am

Bongtrees wrote:www.ya.com,,,,,,,,,,,, banda ancha
Looking at this (for me!) It seems that the satelite connection is only
one-way. You still need a phone line to send web-requests to the
internet, the pages then come to you from the satellite.
I'm referring to this link.
The blurb says:
¿Qué requisitos debo cumplir para conectarme a Internet vía Satélite?
Es necesario, también, que tengas contratado un acceso a Internet a través
de tu línea de teléfono convencional como canal de retorno de los datos.

The OP says they don't have a landline. Have you found a page on Ya.com
that has the whole up/down link via satellite?

Pete

Bongtrees
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2341
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 4:51 pm
Location: Valencia

Re: Internet in the campo

Postby Bongtrees » Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:11 pm

No and sorry I should have read it thoroughly first.

User avatar
Conehead
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:25 am
Location: Any where but Spain

Postby Conehead » Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:24 pm

Prime mover. Not sure what you mean by "chip" but here is what to look for.

The installation includes the antenna with power supply. This has an Ethernet RJ45 socket on it where you connect your computer or router or wireless router. The installation engineer programs the antenna with the information about the transmitter. From then on you are on your own.

You need to connect from the power supply RJ45 socket with an Ethernet cable. You computer, if its not very old should have a built in Ethernet socket most probably on the motherboard. If not you can but a PCI card for very little today. If you have a laptop it probably has a RJ45 socket or a wireless connection.

I run a wireless router and have all my machines linking through that.
I had everything up and running within 1 hour after installation.
Due to the high cost of energy, the light at the end of the tunnel will be shut off until further notice.

User avatar
Robbbo57
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:45 pm

Postby Robbbo57 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:25 am

Hey Geeks!!! This is not a third world country.. I work online.........you can get internet easy here...just get off your butt and do what you would normally do........find out!!!!
Don't be a baby!!!!!!
Smile - you're going to die!:-)

Heston
Resident
Posts: 618
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Jaen

internet

Postby Heston » Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:37 pm

hi I live in the Campo on a mountain very inland and I have internet and satalite phone. The internet is dial up but very fast and I can use my phone whilest on the net. I have 24hr access for just 16euros per month and 13euros per month for the phone.this is with Telefonica someone told me they are legally oblidged to give you a phone but i really dont know how true that is!

User avatar
freecatsrus
Resident
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:36 pm
Location: Vve Del Rosario

Postby freecatsrus » Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:09 pm

I have ya.com and would not recomend them, service is garbage.

User avatar
dxf
Resident
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 5:51 pm
Location: Chiclana Cadiz
Contact:

internet in the campo

Postby dxf » Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:31 am

Hi
I am using a 3G PCMCIA card in my laptop. Telefonica supplied it, costs 34.80 euros a month Vodafone are doing a similar offer currently
Dave

User avatar
papajohnsplace
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: Andalucia

Postby papajohnsplace » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:09 am

Avonline, a U.K. co based in Bristol. That is who I had mine installed by. Satelite.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests