Autumn Statement 25th November

Do you have a query on how to get things done in Andalucia, where to find things, who to call? Find out by posting and hear about others experiences.
Unicorn
Resident

Autumn Statement 25th November

Postby Unicorn » Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:27 pm

I notice in the Autumn Statement that pensioners who spend more than 4 weeks abroad will lose pension credits and housing benefits.

Although not affected myself I wonder how on earth they will check on this. Do you have to 'sign on' for these top ups? As passports are not stamped in Europe how could they know?

It does seem a bit tough on people with families in, say, Australia, New Zealand and the like when it is not really worth going for a short time.

I suppose also it would be women hardest hit as they are less likely to qualify for a full pension with the qualifying number of years.

I have no experience of benefits of any kind and do not know how they are administered but I guess this may affect some people who come here for long periods of time but are resident in the UK.

I would be interested to hears anyone's views on this. :wave:

Len S
Andalucia.com Amigo

Re: Autumn Statement 25th November

Postby Len S » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:33 pm

It seems an entirely sensible policy to me. Why should UK tax payers subsidise holidays abroad for those on benefits. The vast majority of UK taxpayers, me included, are content that our taxes help deserving cases who require financial help, but not for people who are jetting off to the antipodes.
Please remember that there are many UK tax payers who are struggling with the financial demands of raising families etc; a holiday to any destination is impossible for them. :crazy: :crazy:

Unicorn
Resident

Postby Unicorn » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:50 pm

I neither agree nor disagree with it as I am unsure on what basis these payments are made and agree that there are many very hard up people trying to make ends meet in what appear to be very trying times in the UK.