newbie here hello

Do you have a query about moving to Andalucia and buying property in Andalucia. Find out by posting questions and reading about other peoples experiences.
mountainlass
Andalucia.com Amigo

newbie here hello

Postby mountainlass » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:03 pm

Hello

I have joined this forum as my husband and I are planning to move to Andalucia at the end of 2013.

I will be taking early retirement from the NHS, we will both be 56. Financially we have done our sums and investigates tax/private healthcare/residency etc and are as confident as we can be that we will be able to manage. We have a file several inches thick full of information on taxes, utilities etc, but appreciate that this is an every changing force within Spain at the moment.

The move is driven by a desire to have a different experience and way of life... not a better life just different. We have over the past few years, lost friends and colleagues and have now decided that life it to short to just sit and say what if.

We will be visiting in February to travel around several areas that we have identified.

My top spot is the Alpujurass, We live in a rural location in the UK and a pint of milk is a 15 minute drive so we are used to that type of life. However I am also aware that mountain life is not for everyone. We are hoping to stay in Cadiar for a few nights so would appreciate any advice on places to visit both the good and the bad, I am not interested in just focusing on the pretty want to know the negatives. I am drawn to this area for the birds, walking and peace and quiet. We need to be certain though we can deal with the weather in the Winter months, some snow and cold we are not worried about, but how long does the snow lay for? As I have already said the idea of mountain life is appealing the reality takes a bit more thought. Having said that we are hardy folk, and capable of being self sufficient.