Reconnecting Electric and Water in property

Do you have a query about moving to Andalucia and buying property in Andalucia. Find out by posting questions and reading about other peoples experiences.
RaybertK
Tourist

Reconnecting Electric and Water in property

Postby RaybertK » Sun Jul 26, 2020 12:32 pm

Hi Everyone,
In the final stages of buying property in Torrox pueblo.Before I can move into it my Spanish lawyer has said I need to get my Electricity and Water reconnected and also some work done to both of them. I am a newbie in how these things should be done properly in Spain, since I am based in the UK.This is what my Spanish lawyer emailed me about the electric and water;
WATER: Not connected.It is required to carry out some small work on the water box to update it
ELECTRICITY: Not connected. It is required to move the electric meter box, change of derivation to 10mm, put a new electric board, a new differential as well as make a new electric certificate.
Anyone information (especially the electric work) what this means would be really helpful in making sure that the work will be done to the proper Spanish regulations.
Thanks,
RayK

spanish_lad
Andalucia Guru
Location: Alhaurin el Grande since 99, cartama campo since 2022

Re: Reconnecting Electric and Water in property

Postby spanish_lad » Sun Jul 26, 2020 5:16 pm

Re: the electrical side of things :

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but getting all that done, legally, is going to cost you a small fortune. Think about 2k if its "just" moving the box, making a few upgrades and doing a bollatin (certification of the work). If its a complete rewire, about 5k for the work to be done...and dust everywhere (you are better off emptying the house before they come)