DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9268
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Enrique » Wed Jan 18, 2023 10:27 pm

Hi,
Which are the current working DNS and VPN's for UK TV that work in Spain. :?:

I've an enquiry from a Member in Spain who has tried the usual ones mentioned on A.com but these are being blocked .

Thanks
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15823
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby El Cid » Wed Jan 18, 2023 11:23 pm

I have used SmartyDNS and SmartDNSProxy. I have never needed to use their VPN options. I have never had any blocking of UK TV. From what I have read, it is the VPNs that are being blocked, not the DNS servers.

Sid

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7983
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby gerryh » Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:07 am

I use SmartDNSProxy.
Works fine here in Spain.
14 day free trial available at https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9268
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Enrique » Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:17 am

Good morning Guys,

Thanks for your info.............

Had a video chat with Member this morning and got problem sorted ............They are using SmartDNSProxy on iPad

Once DNS settings sorted then all was ok.

Thanks
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4282
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby olive » Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:31 am

We use Nord VPN. We have a 4G Movistar router and failed to put a service on the router itself.

I would be interested in other members solutions with 4G especially from Movistar.

We just use the VPN on the Amazon firestick for catchupTv. The SIM Ip address changes irregularly requiring the VPN to be applied each time and the buttock clenching “ content not available outside UK “ notification displayed.

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Wicksey » Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:36 am

We have to reactivate our IP address every day with Smartdnsproxy as our ISP (presumably) keeps changing it. Sometimes it goes for months without changing, then suddenly every day it goes. I have the page bookmarked and the password saved so it's just a couple of taps to reactivate, but a bit of a pain.

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby casita-bonita » Thu Jan 19, 2023 8:16 pm

Wicksey wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 10:36 am We have to reactivate our IP address every day with Smartdnsproxy as our ISP (presumably) keeps changing it. Sometimes it goes for months without changing, then suddenly every day it goes. I have the page bookmarked and the password saved so it's just a couple of taps to reactivate, but a bit of a pain.
Have you asked your isp if they can assign you a fixed address which saves this hassle. My isp Fobos do this for no extra fee. Others do impose a charge
Regards

Bob

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Wicksey » Thu Jan 19, 2023 8:25 pm

I'm with Fobos. Not sure why it changes all the time? We are in the campo with a Wimax system so not sure if this makes a difference to a connection via fibre.

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby casita-bonita » Thu Jan 19, 2023 8:33 pm

Wicksey wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 8:25 pm I'm with Fobos. Not sure why it changes all the time? We are in the campo with a Wimax system so not sure if this makes a difference to a connection via fibre.
Same as us, campo, wimax, smartdnsproxy... I've Michael or Blas a shout. Wasn't a big deal when I asked them for a fixed address.
Regards

Bob

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Wicksey » Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:22 pm

That's interesting to know many thanks.

Why do they keep changing the IPS address change though?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9268
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Enrique » Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:56 pm

Hi Wicksey,

"Why do they keep changing the IPS address change though".............you only Lease it, so when you shutdown your IP goes back into a Pool, will depend on the Lease Time how long you can keep it.

Some light reading................

https://whatismyipaddress.com/keeps-changing
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Wicksey » Fri Jan 20, 2023 12:00 pm

Thank Enrique! Oh .... can't open that link. I get the 'your connection is not private' Privacy Error message.

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby casita-bonita » Fri Jan 20, 2023 1:48 pm

Enrique wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 9:56 pm Hi Wicksey,

"Why do they keep changing the IPS address change though".............you only Lease it, so when you shutdown your IP goes back into a Pool, will depend on the Lease Time how long you can keep it.

Some light reading................

https://whatismyipaddress.com/keeps-changing
When your lease expires, or you release it your address goes back into the pool as Enrique says. However, and this is specified in the original DHCP rfcs the server should attempt to reassign to the same address when you request a new one. If server activity is low you should get the same address for a further lease, if on the other hand it's busy you'll get a different one. Probably why you sometimes keep the same address for a while, yet other times it changes often.
Regards

Bob

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9268
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby Enrique » Fri Jan 20, 2023 1:58 pm

Hi Wicksey,

"can't open that link. I get the 'your connection is not private' Privacy Error message"..........possibly you still have your DNS set to your smartDNS settings.

More light reading..................

https://www.cloudflare.com/en-gb/learni ... explained/
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4282
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby olive » Fri Jan 20, 2023 7:51 pm

So no one else using Movistar 4G for house internet?

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7983
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby gerryh » Fri Jan 20, 2023 8:15 pm

I use Lobster which uses a Movistar 4G connection but I use a tp-link router that I bought so I can alter any settings that I want to alter on the router.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4282
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby olive » Fri Jan 20, 2023 11:02 pm

Gerry. How does that work? Does your tp link router plug into the 4G Sim router via an ethernet cable?

I have an old Linksys router that I think would take Smarty DNS. Would/ does it slow the service down having the second router? I suspect our VPN does and much more than your setup

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7670
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby markwilding » Sat Jan 21, 2023 3:01 am

Using a second router would only slow the wifi down if the second router is slower than the main one. For example, the main router is dual 2.4 and 5 GHz band but the second one only has the slower band. However, for most streaming this would not be an issue. My Set up is with mesh, which extends the signal throughout the house which means I actually get stronger speeds even though the distance is great but they are 2.4 GHz band.

I can´t change the settings in my main router but I can in the mesh ones I can so I connect my streaming devices to them and use the main router for downloads.

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7983
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: DNS and VPN's that work from Spain

Postby gerryh » Sat Jan 21, 2023 9:12 am

olive wrote: Fri Jan 20, 2023 11:02 pm Gerry. How does that work? Does your tp link router plug into the 4G Sim router via an ethernet cable?

My 4G sim card is plugged into my tp-link router. :thumbup:
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest