Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5974
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Wicksey » Wed May 15, 2024 8:20 pm

We've stayed at a couple of different Airbnbs in the past few weeks and the laptop with the smartdnsproxy set up in it works fine. Now I am somewhere else it won't work at all. The router is a strange tiny black box (TP Link make) that I've never seen before. It is about 2" x 3" and doesn't have aerials. I guess it is connected via a wimax system similar to what we have at home as we are literally in the middle of nowhere. Is it possible for people to set up their system so I cannot use a DNS? It's happened only once before when we've been away and the DNS hasn't worked at all. It's a bit of a pain as my OH likes to look at the BBC sport and that also doesn't work.

I have reset the IP several times.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16154
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby El Cid » Wed May 15, 2024 8:39 pm

I'm having big problems with it right now. I suspect the DNS servers I am using have a problem. I am trying some alternatives at the moment with some success. Milan and Paris seem to work. I will contact them in the morning.

Sid

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9518
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Enrique » Wed May 15, 2024 8:43 pm

Hi Wicksey,
Has the router a model number?
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16154
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby El Cid » Wed May 15, 2024 8:52 pm

I'm getting more convinced that there is a DNS problem. I have been having very random intermittent connection problems all day. If the DNS that you are using is defective you cannot connect to anything. Now that I have changed the DNS the connections are OK. It's enough to drive you mad!+
+Sid

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5974
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Wicksey » Wed May 15, 2024 9:56 pm

Enrique wrote: Wed May 15, 2024 8:43 pm Hi Wicksey,
Has the router a model number?
No. The owner has stuck a huge label on the back with the wifi password on it. Would it be the wifi that I connect to TP Link DA03. It may well be a problem with smartdns from what Sid says though. I was advised to connect to Toronto,Canada and Milan,Italy some time ago when I had problems with my Amazon account (not sure why Canada!), but they have worked OK until today.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9518
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Enrique » Thu May 16, 2024 9:08 am

Hi Wicksey,
Wait for Sid to confirm Smartdnsproxy is up and running and which DNS numbers to use then if you're still having problems get back on here.
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16154
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby El Cid » Thu May 16, 2024 10:24 am

I have reported it to Smarty. It was the Frankfurt DNS that was giving me the problems. It was just not connecting to the Internet, randomly across all devices. The Paris DNS seems to work 47.77.61.165

I will post the response from Smarty when I get it.

The important thing to note is that if there is a problem with the DNS, it does not just prevent you watching BBC it also kills your Internet connection. In my case it was intermittent and that can drive you mad!

Sid

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16154
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby El Cid » Thu May 16, 2024 11:34 am

Theynhave confirmed that the Frankfurt server was undergoing maintenance. They say that as the DNS servers are "Smart", it does not matter which one you use.

Sid

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5974
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Wicksey » Thu May 16, 2024 3:35 pm

I'm home now and everything works as normal, so I presume it's a way the internet was set up at the rental house.

When the DNS stops working we can't get some pages to load, like the BBC Sport one on the computer, but it did load OK on the phone whilst we were away. At home the DNS is also in my router but obviously when we go away, I only have it on my laptop.

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1220
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby casita-bonita » Thu May 16, 2024 6:38 pm

Could be teaching you to suck eggs here, in which case accept my humble apologies. But did you re-validate your ip address in the smartdnsproxy console while you were away?
Regards

Bob

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5974
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby Wicksey » Thu May 16, 2024 6:50 pm

casita-bonita wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 6:38 pm Could be teaching you to suck eggs here, in which case accept my humble apologies. But did you re-validate your ip address in the smartdnsproxy console while you were away?
Yes, I did say in my first post :thumbup: We had spent a night somewhere else beforehand and it all worked OK there, plus the other week we were away in two other places and no problems.

It's happened once before when it didn't work, and I wonder if there's something odd about some people's internet and the way it's been set up that stops me accessing the DNS.

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7811
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby markwilding » Fri May 17, 2024 5:14 pm

I too had some issues with Smarty this week. I just updated the settings and it worked again.

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 737
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: Smartdnsproxy not working away from home

Postby satandpcguy » Sun May 19, 2024 9:03 am

Strange as this week I have had no issues with smartdnsproxy at all, but plenty with nordvpn and having to change servers on the nordvpn router quite a lot this past fortnight
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests