Moving Win7 to a new computer

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
country boy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2804
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Pizarra, Guadalhorce Valley, Malaga.

Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby country boy » Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:48 pm

We recently purchased two legitimate copies of Win 7 home premium for my wife and my computers to upgrade from Win XP. The upgrade was a success and we both enjoy and prefer the new OS. The problem is that my wife's computer is really not up to running Win 7 to it's full advantage. It is an Asus Pundit and is on top limit graphically speaking. I have a chance to buy a more powerful second hand computer from a friend with XP on it. If we put my wife's copy of win7 onto it will Microsoft accept it as a legit copy as it has already been registered on her other machine ( which will become redundant)? I've heard that you can only load them once.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8403
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby Enrique » Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:28 pm

Hi country boy,
Loads of info out there on................. "moving windows 7 to another computer"

Doesn't look to be a problem . 8)
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
country boy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2804
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Pizarra, Guadalhorce Valley, Malaga.

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby country boy » Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:20 pm

OK...point taken Enrique. Will go the Google route :thumbup:

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 14811
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby El Cid » Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:20 pm

Was it a full retail copy, an OEM copy or an upgrade copy - it makes a big difference.

The best thing to do is to install it on the new PC and see if it will let you activate it. If it does not, then call Microsoft on the number that will come up when it rejects it and see if they can sort it - they usually do unless you are a Russian who has tried it 50 times!

Sid

User avatar
country boy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2804
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Pizarra, Guadalhorce Valley, Malaga.

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby country boy » Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:25 am

Full retail copy Sid.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8403
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby Enrique » Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:53 am

Hi contry boy,
Guess you will have come across info like this by now ...........

http://social.answers.microsoft.com/For ... 452649b76d
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 14811
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby El Cid » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:40 am

country boy wrote:Full retail copy Sid.


The license terms for W7 retail say:-

"You may transfer the software and install it on another computer for your use. That computer becomes the licensed computer. You may not do so to share this license between computers."

So, you can transfer it but legally you must remove it from the other PC.

When you install it, it will require activation which may or may not suceed. There is a time out on activation - I think it's around six months. If you activated the first time more than 6 months ago it may well activate OK.

If not you will get a message telling you to call MS and they will activate it over the phone for you once you have explained what you are doing.

Sid

User avatar
country boy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2804
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Pizarra, Guadalhorce Valley, Malaga.

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby country boy » Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:29 am

Thanks Sid, yes it was more than 6 months ago so we'll get the new machine and give it a whirl . Thanks both for your time!
Cheers

User avatar
freecatsrus
Resident
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:36 pm
Location: Vve Del Rosario

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby freecatsrus » Wed Jun 09, 2010 7:13 pm

I had to reactivate my Win 7 after i put a new motherboard in the computer.

What you have to do is phone MS and type into the phone the sequence of numbers shown on your computer, then you will be given in return another sequence of numbers to type into boxes on computer, this is all done through an automated voice so dont expect to speak to anyone.

Was no prob with mine when i put numbers in it accepted it straight away and still up and running 2 months later.

User avatar
country boy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2804
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Pizarra, Guadalhorce Valley, Malaga.

Re: Moving Win7 to a new computer

Postby country boy » Wed Jun 09, 2010 7:21 pm

Thanks :thumbup:


Return to “Computers, Internet, Telephony, TV & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest