Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:46 pm

I was trying to donate to a charity using virginmoneygiving.com
I went to the site a few days back and using my Debit card, made a donation. It took ages and eventually I gave up as it didn't process. I tried again - no joy. I contacted Virginmoneygiving to see what the problem was. They couldn't help. I then contacted my bank and asked THEM what the problem was. They said there was no reason why it didn't work.

I am now appealing to you guys! I tried again today using IE8 and the payment went through in seconds. Any idea why it didn't work with Firefox?

Thanks in anticipation.
Dave

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10648
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Beachcomber » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:33 pm

This is the fault of the site designers. I have come across several sites that will not work properly with Firefox. I have installed IE Tab in order to overcome this very problem. I hate using Internet Explorer but sometimes it is unavoidable.

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:01 pm

Thanks Beach.
Dave

User avatar
.Griff.
Resident
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:46 pm
Location: Mijas La Nueva / Walsall

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby .Griff. » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:03 pm

What version of Firefox are you using?

I just made a donation, albeit very small, as a test and it went through perfectly for me using FF 3.6.6

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Version 3.6.6

I've also downloaded the IE tab but haven't a clue where it is. Time to change the bombona on the computer.
Dave

pmb
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: West Yorks, hopefully soon Andalucia

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby pmb » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:28 pm

I use FF 99% of the time but find there are sites it doesn't like. eg I was wanting to print something today and ff said 2 pages but IE said 8. You should get a little icon in the bottom right of the screen to change rendering from one browser to another with the add-on.

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:40 pm

Thanks, but I must be blind. I've downloaded the IE tab but then what? A pop-up asks me to do a number of things that are alien to me. I'm about as much use as a chocolate fireguard. Off for a lie down.
(Birthday treat)
Dave

User avatar
pietree
Resident
Posts: 298
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:33 am

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby pietree » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:42 pm

What are peoples thoughts on Safari?
Thats it for now

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10648
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Beachcomber » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:48 pm

To find IE Tab, right click on the toolbar at the top of the screen, click on 'Customise'. Find the IE Tab icon on the panel that opens and drag it onto the toolbar. The icon has a small arrow pointing to a tiny IE logo.

By the way, do you have 'No Script' installed?

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:02 pm

Got the IE tab. Thanks. Yes I have No script.
Dave

User avatar
pigs-might-fly
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2088
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:20 pm

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby pigs-might-fly » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:49 pm

No script might be why your donation didn't work.
It is likely that the site you visited uses scripts to initiate the donation process.
You can temporarily, or permanently, "white-list", or "trust" all or some of the pages which have opened, without your seeing them, as links from the original site in you visited, with No Script options- accessed from your progress bar.
Location: The Dukeries.

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10648
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Beachcomber » Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:30 pm

Beat me to it Pigs, that was to be my next suggestion. :D

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:38 pm

Beachcomber wrote:Beat me to it Pigs, that was to be my next suggestion. :D
I hung around waiting but you were too late! Pigs rocks!
(Thanks beach anyway)
Dave

User avatar
pigs-might-fly
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2088
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:20 pm

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby pigs-might-fly » Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:22 pm

OINK, OINK!
Location: The Dukeries.

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:06 pm

Relevant to this, I went to the Endesa site to change the correspondence address. Again it worked in IE8 but not Firefox. I disabled NoScript on Firefox (then re-started) and went back to the Endesa site.
It didn't work, so maybe it's not the NoScript that's doing it.
Dave

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7741
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby gerryh » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:34 pm

You need to use the IE tab addon to access the Endesa site.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

User avatar
.Griff.
Resident
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:46 pm
Location: Mijas La Nueva / Walsall

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby .Griff. » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:46 pm

Which Endesa site are we talking about? http://www.endesaonline.com/ES/Hogares/ ?

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10648
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Beachcomber » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:51 pm

I have to use IE if I want to change anything or enter a meter reading on the Endesa site as well. I don't think it is No Script causing the problem.

User avatar
Mowser
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6388
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Torre del Mar

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby Mowser » Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:01 pm

Thanks all. I used the IE tab. My point was that it's possibly not NoScript at fault as I tried whilst NoScript was disabled.
Griff. Indeed that was the site. I went to "clientes" and managed to change my correspondence address.
Dave

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7741
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Works in IE8 but not Firefox

Postby gerryh » Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:40 pm

I use https://www.gp.endesaonline.com the online office.
It is in English.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests