HDMI ?

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
flan_taster
Resident
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Cadiz

HDMI ?

Postby flan_taster » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:53 pm

Another question from an amateur.
I have an HDMI socket in the back of my PC and another on a flat screen TV.
Is it possible to cable them together and play video through the TV screen easily?
If so what do I need to do (apart from cabling them together) ?

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15168
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: HDMI ?

Postby El Cid » Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:03 pm

Just connect them and whatever you see on the PC should appear on the TV.

Sid

barry
Resident
Posts: 519
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:14 pm
Location: Cave El Margen,Granada

Re: HDMI ?

Postby barry » Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:20 pm

Yes agree! It is relatively simple and you can play compressed video files that your computor can handle direct onto our tv screen.

Chunky Monky
Resident
Posts: 1680
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:17 am

Re: HDMI ?

Postby Chunky Monky » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:22 am

It doesn't end there. I bought a Logitech cordless keyboard and mouse for about £16 delivered.

I can now use my tv as a monitor and control the computer from my armchair!

It's absolutely brilliant!

morlandg
Resident
Posts: 574
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 am
Location: Velez Malaga

Re: HDMI ?

Postby morlandg » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:18 am

Chunky Monky wrote:It doesn't end there. I bought a Logitech cordless keyboard and mouse for about £16 delivered.

I can now use my tv as a monitor and control the computer from my armchair!

It's absolutely brilliant!
Sounds great - where did you buy it from? And is it the spanish keys version?

User avatar
flan_taster
Resident
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Cadiz

Re: HDMI ?

Postby flan_taster » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:27 am

Just experimenting. I connected cables and set TV input to HDMI and can now see that normal PC screen with the cursor moving on the TV screen not PC Monitor. Then tried a Video recorded on my Hard Disc and no sound.
So it may require further scratching of head and muttering under breath like "....bl**dy computers"

pmb
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: West Yorks, hopefully soon Andalucia

Re: HDMI ?

Postby pmb » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:54 am

You may have to enable HDMI audio output in your sound settings like I had to on my laptop.

Chunky Monky
Resident
Posts: 1680
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:17 am

Re: HDMI ?

Postby Chunky Monky » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:20 pm

Sounds great - where did you buy it from? And is it the spanish keys version?

I got the Logitech Mk250 from Amazon.co.uk. It is not a Spanish keyboard, perhaps a similar one may be available from Amazon.es. It must have been on special offer when I bought it about a year ago.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Logitech-920-0 ... 97&sr=8-11


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest