Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8655
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Enrique » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:00 pm

Hi Trooperman,
Possible source..........with pictures............

http://www.astra2.org/astra2.html
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

scotty
Resident
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Dublin / San pedro de Alcantara.

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby scotty » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:09 pm

As above. :thumbup: But in my case it was sent by a "respected" BBC techy who endorsed the "do not buy any new equipment until the dust settles" school of thought. 8) In our community we are adapting a suck & see plan.

User avatar
Trooperman
Resident
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Fuente de Piedra

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Trooperman » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:13 pm

OK.....thanks Enrique...........from the horses mouth, so to speak.
nil illegitimum carborundum

johnr
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Alcaucin, Malaga

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby johnr » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:27 pm

scotty wrote:As above. :thumbup: But in my case it was sent by a "respected" BBC techy who endorsed the "do not buy any new equipment until the dust settles" school of thought. 8) In our community we are adapting a suck & see plan.
I think this makes sense but I am moving to a new house this month without a dish so am still looking for a cheap 1.3m dish ;)

Is there a classified section on this forum? If not, can anyone suggest some good places to look?

Thanks

scotty
Resident
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Dublin / San pedro de Alcantara.

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby scotty » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:41 pm

Hey John, put your location in your profile and people will be able to give you local advice. :thumbup:

johnr
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Alcaucin, Malaga

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby johnr » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:43 pm

scotty wrote:Hey John, put your location in your profile and people will be able to give you local advice. :thumbup:
Thanks will do, but already mentioned twice Alcaucin area! Thanks.

Parilla
Resident
Posts: 481
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:00 pm
Location: San Pedro de Alcantara

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Parilla » Tue Dec 11, 2012 10:55 am

Might be of interest. Just been told by a neighbour that at 3.00 pm today, Talk Radio Europe are having an "expert" on to discuss the signal situation.

Parilla

Acen
Resident
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:46 pm

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Acen » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:06 pm

Parilla wrote:Might be of interest. Just been told by a neighbour that at 3.00 pm today, Talk Radio Europe are having an "expert" on to discuss the signal situation.

Parilla
could some one post what the "expert" says on the radio??

What is talk radios frequency, im assuming it is costa del sol station as It does not reach here near tarifa!!!

pmb
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: West Yorks, hopefully soon Andalucia

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby pmb » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:13 pm

Acen wrote: What is talk radios frequency, im assuming it is costa del sol station as It does not reach here near tarifa!!!
It's on the net at www.talkradioeurope.com I listen to it in the UK for the comm of the Malaga games.

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby satandpcguy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:08 pm

Acen wrote: could some one post what the "expert" says on the radio??
No real point.

Apart from saying "things are changing" most of what was said was incorrect, and based on speculation
"more4" apparently moved satellites - which it did not.
"all bbc itvs c4 and subsidiary channels will be lost in Spain on the 16th December." - speculation
"Barcelona is getting the new 2F signal on a 1m dish" - no - they are struggling with a 1.5m dish"
"the further south you need now need a bigger dish" - well depends where further south you are, as where I am a 1m dish is working fine.
"all sky pay channels will not be affected by these changes" - the will eventually as all channels on 1n, 2a and 2b will move to new satellites.
"The 2F sky signal is effectively cut off at Madrid for BBC ITV" - This is totally contradictory to all the reception reports!
"The loss of BBC ITV Fives signals in south Spain are all down to the publandlady showing football in her pub.", "karen murphy did start the problem" - Nope. Its nothing to do with her at all.
And "BBC can save money by not having to pay of EPG listings by moving satellites "...
And apprently "BBC ITV channels will be moved from 1F to 2F" - 1F has not and does not carry UK TV channels!!!

I dont know whether to laugh or cry
Last edited by satandpcguy on Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
Devils Advocate
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5567
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Sierra Tejeda and England

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Devils Advocate » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:14 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

A pub landlady getting the blame :lol: ...........thanks for posting that, gave me a smile :D
Property owner in Andalucia since 2002. How time flies.

pmb
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: West Yorks, hopefully soon Andalucia

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby pmb » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:30 pm

satandpcguy wrote:
Apart from saying "things are changing" most of what was said was incorrect
Can't argue with that.
And why did he keep going on about terrestrial channels?

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby satandpcguy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:00 pm

pmb wrote:Can't argue with that.
And why did he keep going on about terrestrial channels?
Perhaps he meant "extra-terrestrial" - as that is where is from???? :mrgreen:

Even in the satellite world , terrestrial channels still kind of means "BBC1,2, ITV1, C4 and Five"...even though they are not, but they are.....
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

katy
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 12766
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:45 pm

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby katy » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:31 pm

Does anyone actually watch channel 5 :o We could never get it in Marbella, never missed it, never watch it in the UK either.

morlandg
Resident
Posts: 574
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 am
Location: Velez Malaga

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby morlandg » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:39 pm

katy wrote:Does anyone actually watch channel 5 :o We could never get it in Marbella, never missed it, never watch it in the UK either.
You mean you never watched the cricket highlights on C5???
Graham

Zofia
Resident
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:15 pm
Location: Montefrio

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Zofia » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:44 pm

The new series of Dallas was on Channel 5.

Zofia
Finally really and properly living in Andalucia.

Miro
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3561
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: Merseyside, formally Torremolinos

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Miro » Tue Dec 11, 2012 8:01 pm

Just got my hdmi-mini hdmi cable from Amazon, and connected my Asus tablet to the TV. Filmon completes the set up. If you can keep Channel 5 when all around you are losing theirs......Ooh, I'll be the envy of the town!! :lol:
Don't worry about what people think, they don't do it very often

"Acquiring a dog may be the only opportunity a human ever has to choose a relative," Mordecai Siegal 1935-2010.

johnr
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Alcaucin, Malaga

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby johnr » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:25 pm

Ok, I've got my solution working (at least, one of them - I may set up a slingbox when I next go back to the UK).

As has been discussed, you can watch some channels free with Filmon.com in SD, or pay for HD. At 150 GBP a year it's actually not bad value, especially when you compare it with the cost of a 3m dish etc (*If* a 3m dish even works, we just don't know yet).

I've got a a jailbroken Apple TV with XBMC installed. There is a free Filmon module for it.

I've just bought a month subscription to Filmon as a test.

It works great. Maybe the sound isn't so great, but overall it's more than fine and watchable. If the choice is no UK tv or this, I'm more than happy with this.

Next week I'm moving house to a new finca that has no dish or antenna at all.

I was going to get one (even know about the loss of channels) but now I'm not going to rush. This solution works and gives me UK channels. I'll put up a TDT antenna for Spanish channels. And next year I *may* put up a satellite for some other channels and to minimise bandwidth use, but no major rush now.

So to recap you need:

* an Apple TV version 2 (you can't jailbreak version 3 yet)
* to jailbreak it and install xbmc (there are docs on this here - http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Ho ... Apple_TV_2)
* you need a filmon subscription (Free or paid for).

It's not for everyone (some people will struggle setting it up, I appreciate that) but for those who can manage the technical side of things, it appears to be a decent working solution when combined with an ISP with unlimited/high bandwidth allowance and speed.

John

User avatar
Julie
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: Andalucia & Greater Manchester

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby Julie » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:38 pm

I use xmbc just loaded on my laptop and run it through the tv its great.
No soporto ver la casa sucia, ahora mismo me levanto y apago la luz.

johnr
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Alcaucin, Malaga

Re: Has anyone actually lost their TV signal yet?

Postby johnr » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:57 pm

Julie wrote:I use xmbc just loaded on my laptop and run it through the tv its great.
yes, xbmc runs on many devices, it's just something like an Apple TV is a permanent device "under the tv" rather than having to use a laptop.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest