TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:08 pm

Hi
Anybody, beside me, using a TM-5402 and Intelsat 907?
I thought that I could record BBC1 whilst watching BBC2 but the BBC1 recording freezes as soon as I start watching BBC1.
The supplier of the box said "It only records and watch another on same frequency " but all the Intelsat 907 programmes are transmitted the same frequency, 11495V, aren't they?
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby satandpcguy » Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:20 pm

I have been able to record about 4 sd channels (all on the same freq) at the same time with no problems.

however, you are recording HD channels, at HD quality, which takes a lot of power to do and needs a very fast usb stick / drive... otherwise th8ings can freeze.
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:40 pm

I'm aware of the potential HD problem.
I have tried recording BBC1 SD whilst watching BBC2 SD.
I started with a cheapo USB stick but then tried a 500GB WD elements Hard Drive which shows, via DiskManager/ testing USB speed, R&W of 89 MBit/s, Write 119 MBit/s and Read 181 MBit/s which is way up in the green area of the bar chart.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10444
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Beachcomber » Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:49 pm

I have not yet been successful in recording more than one channel at the same time or even watching another channel whilst recording although I haven't tried again since my first failure.

It has been suggested in the Technomate forum that this may be either due to the lack of an EPG or because of the BISS encryption.

I am using a Toshiba 1TB USB powered hard drive.

User avatar
Martin Page
Resident
Posts: 1805
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 4:57 pm
Location: Chiclana de la Frontera - Costa de Luz

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Martin Page » Mon Oct 27, 2014 1:22 pm

Sorry Gerry ... me neither. Neither HD or SD. Neither manual record or Auto.

It records whilst ever your Watching the channel even in HD - the moment you switch channels the recording stops dead
I'm using a TH-5402 Mk 3 with the latest update installed

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:23 pm

satandpcguy wrote:I have been able to record about 4 sd channels (all on the same freq) at the same time with no problems.
So is this on a TM-5402 and Intelsat 907, as my question asked?
Neither I, Beachcomber or Martin Page have managed to record one channel whilst watching another. :thumbdown:
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10444
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Beachcomber » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:07 pm

Yes, I wondered about that. It does seem a bit odd that he can record four at the same time. Perhaps he has a sooper-dooper patch that we don't know about! I have two of these receivers and have installed a third for a friend and all three did the same exactly as Martin Page describes.

In fact, if I try to set another recording on a different channel at the same time or overlapping one that is already set I get an error message.

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby firsttango » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:35 pm

If you have the M3 version of of the receiver then you can record up to 2 channels and playback a recorded prog at the same time. Not sure about 4 though.
Its the far superior TM 7102 that can record upto 3 channels.

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:58 pm

I do have the M3 version.
So are you saying you can record more than one channel at the same time and both recordings are OK using the M3 box and Intelsat 907?
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10444
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Beachcomber » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:03 pm

Perhaps you could explain how to set it to record two channels from 907 at the same time because when I try to do so I get an error message.

I have the M3 version and I cannot record two channels at the same time although I can watch a previously recorded programme whilst recording another or watch one from the start that is already being recorded. However, if I am watching a recorded programme and another recording starts it switches off the recording I am watching and I have to set it to play again.

Better than nothing but a Humax it certainly isn't.

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby satandpcguy » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:23 pm

gerryh wrote:
satandpcguy wrote:I have been able to record about 4 sd channels (all on the same freq) at the same time with no problems.
So is this on a TM-5402 and Intelsat 907, as my question asked?
Neither I, Beachcomber or Martin Page have managed to record one channel whilst watching another. :thumbdown:
Yes - but it was not recently, and not this year - and probably before 2f started when I was first playing around with 907.

Unfortunately my TM5402 is currently in parts - close to having a hammer on it - so cannot test it any more - nor can I remember what patch I was using.

And it was fine recording 2,3 or 4 sd channels on other satellites also.
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:50 pm

satandpcguy wrote: And it was fine recording 2,3 or 4 sd channels on other satellites also.
Fully aware that it works OK on satellites other than Intelsat 907.
There is a theory on the technomate-community-forum that, on Intelsat 907, the lack of EPG or needing BISS codes or a combination of the two is what is causing the problem.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby satandpcguy » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:04 pm

I also seem to remember there used to be the odd days when the encryption was actually dropped so I wonder if one of those days coincided with my day of testings... some days during the Olympics they were actually FTA...
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby firsttango » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:05 pm

gerryh wrote:I do have the M3 version.
So are you saying you can record more than one channel at the same time and both recordings are OK using the M3 box and Intelsat 907?
Cheers
Gerry
No I'm saying that is what the Tech Spec from Technomate quotes, I've not ever had the need to record anything, so actually have no first hand experience of whether it actually reflects the spec they list. I will however give it a go in the next day or so and let you know if it does what it "says on the tin"

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10444
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Beachcomber » Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:37 pm

The discussion on the Technomate community forum is here:

http://www.technomate-community-forum.c ... oblem.894/

It does seem that, despite what the specifications say, it is not possible to record two programmes and watch another at the same time, at least, not on 907.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15095
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby El Cid » Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:41 pm

The receiver only has one tuner, but it should still be possible as all the programmes are on the same transponder.

My single tuner GI Genius will record two at the same time, but you cannot watch a third.

Sid

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:44 pm

Went to El Trapiche market today where there are usually 2 or 3 "UKTV" stands.
Only 2 there today.
Asked the first about recording one channel whilst watching another using a TM-5402.
He assured me it does work but couldn't demonstrate it as they didn't have a satellite connection, but if I went to Coin market tomorrow he could show me it working.
Beachcomber, I think you live near Coin, fancy checking it out?
Went to the other stand, who had a satellite connection and was assured by both men in green that it does work.
Asked for a demo and surprise surprise, the recording had frozen at the point of switch over. :thumbdown:
They both looked a bit sheepish when they admitted it didn't work.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

Beachcomber
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 10444
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:11 pm
Location: Guadalhorce Valley

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby Beachcomber » Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:52 pm

I always avoid these places like the plague! :evil:

These people aren't really satellite installers they are just bandwagon-jumping ladder monkeys. I think they are just repeating what it claims on the box and have never tried it.

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Tue Oct 28, 2014 1:14 pm

OK. I can't go tomorrow but I will see if I can get there next Wednesday.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7678
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: TM-5402 and Intelsat 907

Postby gerryh » Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:56 pm

Beachcomber wrote:The discussion on the Technomate community forum is here:

http://www.technomate-community-forum.c ... oblem.894/

It does seem that, despite what the specifications say, it is not possible to record two programmes and watch another at the same time, at least, not on 907.
Just had a message from that forum and it says there is a patch, 123p, available that cures the recording two programmes problem.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests