NOW TV BOX

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:34 am

I have a Now TV box, with a card, prepped in UK but can't get it to work here
What is the magic formula?
It apparently worked fine in UK
I've got Smarty dns

Any help welcome!

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:37 am

What does "card prepped in U.K" mean?? NOWTV doesn't use a card. Is SmartyDNS on your Router????

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 10:59 am

No it isn't. Is that massively complicated?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8485
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Enrique » Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:10 am

Hi Unicorn,
To login to your Router you will need the Username and Password............will depend on Router

Some have the info on the Base

If you post make and model there is a list of Default usernames and passwords available.........

You normally type the IP address of your Router in to your Browser Example......192.168.0.1 this then brings up the Login Box.

If you need a hand fire up Teamviewer and give me a shout............ :idea:
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:24 am

Unicorn wrote:No it isn't. Is that massively complicated?
Depends on Router as some are locked and wont allow you to change DNS settings, but if it's Movistar (which I use) it is very simple.

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:54 am

Hurrah it is a movistar

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8485
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Enrique » Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:00 pm

Hi,
"Hurrah it is a movistar".............over to you fisttango........... :D
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:05 pm

Need Router Model as Newer Fibre Models differ slightly in access to the older adsl ones

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 1:49 pm

Which number is it

Is it Home Station ADSL BHS-RTA 00412883

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:03 pm

Is this it exactly with 7 function displays that light up?

Image

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:30 pm

That is it!!!

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:46 pm

Been a long while since I had that router....from memory to do this wirelessly type the IP addy into your browser 192.168.1.1 then you'll be taken to the Routers log in Page where you need to enter your user name and password if you have ever changed it, if not the default used to be 1234 and 1234
Then navigate to the DNS settings area and change them to the ones from SMARTY then Accept ......the screen you're looking for is as below

Image

Have an English manual pdf for that router somewhere, let me know if you need it and I'll look it out

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 3:21 pm

Yippee Thanks so much
Against all the odds I did it :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno: :lolno:

One more question (Columbo) can I have more than one box reg to the same person?

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 3:54 pm

Yes you can have up to 4 now boxes on one account but you can only watch on two at the same time......PLUS they don't have to be in the same location.... ie you could have 2 at your home in Malaga and two at your friends apt in Granada for example

https://help.nowtv.com/article/managing-my-devices

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:06 pm

Thank you

One last one. When I cancel the card will I still be able to watch live BBC etc?

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:14 pm

You don't actually cancel your credit card you cancel the subscription to whatever package voucher you have bought...entertainment, Sport etc. But the answer is YES you will get absolutely everything (bbc iplayer/itv hub etc) apart from the Sky subscription channels when you cancel.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 14930
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby El Cid » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:28 pm

When you cancel they will probably offer you a half price sub for three months.

Sid

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:22 pm

I see I can watch bbc ITV live but cannot for the mo see how to watch 4 and 5
I will fiddle around again it I am supposed to be able...
Cheers folks

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby firsttango » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:27 pm

Demand 5 and All 4 are just catch up......no live stream.

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: NOW TV BOX

Postby Unicorn » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:37 pm

Cheers FT, saves me a whole bunch of time! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

And thanks for your help :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
If you're ever down this way there are a couple of foaming pints with your name on them! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests