Replacement cellphone

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
Manchesteral
Resident

Replacement cellphone

Postby Manchesteral » Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:42 pm

AS a 70 year old I need a big, as in big screen, cellphone, I don't need any of these swiss army type things with 50 functions, My basic needs are for telephone calls, photos, whatsapp etc but most of all reliability my ceiling would be around 500 euros and, b t w what is 5g and do I need it ?
I'm going to the phone shop in the next couple of days but just looking for recommendations at the moment ! I've been using an L G k5 for the last 3/4 years and it suits my needs but now need a new one, any opinions ?

Enrique
Andalucia Guru

Re: Replacement cellphone

Postby Enrique » Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:59 pm

Hi Manchesteral,

You're going to get a lot of recommendations..........so I'll kick it off.................

Mrs E's phone............Motorola Moto G8 runs Android 11, Dual SIM , screen size 6.4.......does all you want , Example price €153

%G is the latest Phone network standard..........faster than 4G but not widely available unless you're in a City.

Currently here in darkest Jaén Province ..Vodafon phone connection is High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA) family. HSDPA is also known as 3.5G and 3G+ so not even 4G !! .......... :)
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

daveboy
Andalucia.com Amigo

Postby daveboy » Mon Nov 15, 2021 10:19 pm

Dont waste your money on 5G. Big cities only for at least another year. When i bought my iPhone 11 the sales guy actually talked me out of buying the 12 as no 5G in my area. Samsung will be cheaper than Apple and a very good phone with good screen size but personally never owned any of the new model Samsung products.

casita-bonita
Resident

Postby casita-bonita » Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:34 am