Old Sky box playing up?

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Sun Jul 23, 2023 3:06 pm

We still have our original old Sky box and 1.3m dish we used to use for UK TV. We've kept it as the EPG is useful and there are still a few channels that work. Last few days it's been going a bit odd. The EPG worked but didn't show the full details of the programme when you used the i button. The channels all worked but kept going on and off and pixilating.

Today the EPG works fine, some channels work but others like Sky News just come up with the 'no satellite signal' message. Is it atmospherics I wonder as it seems to change every day. Our very poor mobile phone signal has also disappeared over the past few days.

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby satandpcguy » Mon Jul 24, 2023 6:07 am

Sky News (SD) is on of the strongest signals...being on the European beam.
If you are struggling to receive this, then either, your dish is not aligned correctly, your LNB is failing (they dont like heat!), your cable is failing (cable split by the sun and water getting inside), of your receiver is failing. With any of these, with the heat and humidity can cause less signal getting to your dish.
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Mon Jul 24, 2023 9:08 am

Many thanks for that information. We do have a spare box so could try that, otherwise it may be the heat has just made either the LNB or the cable rot. The dish is rock solid.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15969
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby El Cid » Mon Jul 24, 2023 10:12 am

My best guess would be the LNB.

Sid

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Mon Jul 24, 2023 12:57 pm

I suspect it may be the case Sid. Sitting in the baking sun for 11 years!

User avatar
costakid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5719
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:55 am
Location: malaga este

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby costakid » Tue Jul 25, 2023 9:47 am

Free to a good home. I have a 1.3 metre dish and LNB on my house. If anyone want it they can come and remove it. Its a gift if anyone wants it.

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Tue Jul 25, 2023 11:39 am

How easy it is to replace the LNB? I seem to remember it was difficult to get the signal if it was a mm out of line. Come to think of it, our neighbour still has the Sky dish and LNB from the previous English owners. Being German, I'm not sure if they use it at all :think:

User avatar
costakid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5719
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:55 am
Location: malaga este

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby costakid » Tue Jul 25, 2023 11:43 am

Wicksey wrote: Tue Jul 25, 2023 11:39 am How easy it is to replace the LNB? I seem to remember it was difficult to get the signal if it was a mm out of line. Come to think of it, our neighbour still has the Sky dish and LNB from the previous English owners. Being German, I'm not sure if they use it at all :think:
If you dont replace the dish it should bolt straight on. The LNB is only out of line if the dish is.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15969
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby El Cid » Tue Jul 25, 2023 11:55 am

You also need to make a note of exactly how the old LNB is positioned both in terms of fore and aft and "skew" or twist.

Sid

satandpcguy
Resident
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 5:53 pm

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby satandpcguy » Tue Jul 25, 2023 3:19 pm

Different LNBs seem to have different skews for the best signals. Its millimeters but they are not all the same. So can be a bit trial and error
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Mon Jul 31, 2023 4:33 pm

Strangely it has started working again without us doing anything! Firstly the EPG came back to life the other night and currently all the channels are now working as normal. I'm glad I didn't touch anything now.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 15969
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby El Cid » Mon Jul 31, 2023 4:47 pm

Might make sense to buy a spare LNB. Maybe this https://www.amazon.es/Inverto-Ultra-Hig ... ics&sr=1-1

Sid

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5771
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Old Sky box playing up?

Postby Wicksey » Mon Jul 31, 2023 6:15 pm

Thanks Sid.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests