Changing disk partitions

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
knowal
Resident
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:35 pm
Location: England

Changing disk partitions

Postby knowal » Sat Feb 24, 2024 3:11 pm

I've got a Dell Laptop and ever since I've had it it had two partitions on the HDD.
The C drive (219GB) has the operating systems and all files were saved to it.
It was getting full and there was 931GB in drive D which was empty.
Using disk management I deleted drive D.
I then wanted to extend drive C to fill all the space and I right click on the C drive and "Extend Volume" is greyed out.
I am the only account on the PC and have administrator permissions.
I used this article as a guide
https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-u ... -windows-7

I could not see how to do steps 5 and 6.
Perhaps that is why I can't do the extend C volume?

Here's an image which might help. I definitely need some tips here, please.
Image

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9490
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby Enrique » Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:26 pm

Hi,
What is your Dell model number and year ............... :?:

To me that layout would indicate two internal Drives ........... some Dell laptops come with two.

If two Disks check if they are the same type.

A possible way to go.............. :?:

"Disk expansion and merging must be performed between adjacent partitions and the two disks must be of the same type. For example, if both the C and D drives are SSDs and are adjacent to each other, you can merge them to expand the capacity of the C drive"
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

User avatar
knowal
Resident
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:35 pm
Location: England

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby knowal » Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:59 pm

Thanks for the reply, Enrique.
Dell Inspiron 15 5000 bought in 2020.
I think it has a digital SSD drive and a normal HDD but not 100% sure.
If so, does that mean I can't do it?

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9490
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby Enrique » Sat Feb 24, 2024 6:06 pm

Hi,

"I then wanted to extend drive C to fill all the space and I right click on the C drive and "Extend Volume" is greyed out."

Would indicate that it's not possible on your configuration............ :(

What you could do is set up D: drive and use symlinks/Symbolic Links ........... to point some System file to the D: drive and or non system files to D: drive.

https://www.howtogeek.com/16226/complet ... -or-linux/

If you use GPTChat ................... pop this question .....'windows 10 setup system folders to D: using symlinks'......... gives a good rundown on how to do it.
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

User avatar
knowal
Resident
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:35 pm
Location: England

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby knowal » Sat Feb 24, 2024 7:47 pm

Ah, OK, thanks for your help.
In that case I will try to reinstate the "D" drive and put it back how it was. I have 20GB still free in "C" drive and all of it is backed up on external drives.

EDIT - D drive reinstated.

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7786
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby markwilding » Sun Feb 25, 2024 4:14 pm

I always used to keep my files on the D drive, The advantage was there was no need to do a back up of files if a reset of the OS was needed.

These days Windows has various option for a reset and one allows one which only Windows goes back to its original state, However, files are not deleted.

User avatar
knowal
Resident
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:35 pm
Location: England

Re: Changing disk partitions

Postby knowal » Sun Feb 25, 2024 9:46 pm

That's what I have done now, Mark. Copied all docs, images, video and music onto the newly recreated HDD (D) and I now have more backups than enough! :)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], gerryh and 13 guests