Setting-Up a Smart Television

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
vinuela vinny
Resident

Setting-Up a Smart Television

Postby vinuela vinny » Mon Feb 26, 2024 1:02 pm

I am an educated amateur when it comes to television technology and in particular around IPTV boxes and wondered if one of you experts out there might be able to offer me some guidance or point me in the right direction please?

We have a house in the campo in Sevilla province, and our internet is provided by a WiMAX transmitter, with a maximum speed of 20mbps
We currently have what I term as a ‘dumb’ (not ‘smart’) fifteen-year-old 32” elderly television, with two IPTV boxes both connected to the internet by separate ethernet cables via a splitter from the TP-Link, and then both connected to the television by separate HDMI cables. All works well, but these days the picture quality leaves much to be desired, and we want to be able to use a Chromecast device for casting. We are thinking of purchasing a 55” TCL ‘smart’ television but are worried about the change-over and the possible required changes to any current settings. If we buy from our local shop they may help us with the set-up, but that may be more difficult if we buy from say the distant MediaMarkt or El Corte Inglis where televisions seem cheaper. Assuming no help is forthcoming, we have a couple of questions –

1) Having viewed several videos on YouTube, presumably when I first turn on the new ‘smart’ television, and if I change the language to English, the system will lead me through the set-up? Is the process straightforward? Are there any pitfalls?
2) Should I set-up the television location as Spain rather than the UK?
3) If the new ‘smart’ television is connected directly to the internet by an ethernet cable from the existing TP-Link power point or even by the wifi, will I still need to connect the IPTV boxes to the internet, or not?