Crate training

Are you looking for information or help related to pets in Andalucia. Post your questions and advice about domestic pets, veterinary services, legal issues.
Jool
Andalucia Guru

Crate training

Postby Jool » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:43 am

I know many of you have done this and would like some detailed advice please as I have never used crates before. I knew the early principles but for this stage need to get it right

We have the crate and the dog goes in quite happily, eats her food in there and chooses to go in and out voluntarily so we are now at the stage of closing the door, but here I lack experience

How long do I close it for the first time?
Do I hide treats in there for first time closed so she is distracted? She is likely to try and scratch her way out as soon as they are finished and I don´t want to establish this as a habit.
What do I do if she gets stressed (which she will do as she believes herself to be house boss)?
Should I leave her in it for short periods of time and build it up regardless of how she feels?
Should I ignore her if she is upset or just firmly command her to stay in her place?

Any info or advice from those who have successfully done this would be hugely appreciated - she is an over sensitive dog and one of the reasons for using the crate is to calm her down and also make her feel secure by not being so over responsible for everything.......as she takes over in any area she can where the other dogs are concerned as she had a bad start in life and thinks she needs to be in charge to feel secure.

Enrique
Andalucia Guru

Re: Crate training

Postby Enrique » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:58 am

Hi Jool,
Sounds like you're doing ok so far .
As all dogs are different, what works for me might or might not work for you.
I've just recently "rescued" a six year old that had spent all those years chained up. She now happily goes into a crate and sleeps with the door shut.