Residencia and/or visiting restrictions

Information and questions about the Law in Spain and Andalucia.
David 0’Leary
Tourist

Residencia and/or visiting restrictions

Postby David 0’Leary » Tue Feb 14, 2023 4:57 pm

Hello all,

I am a newbie on here.
Pre Brexit I lived in Andalucía for a couple of years and obtained Residencia. As a British citizen I was astonished when Brexit occurred and the limitations started coming in. Moved back to Northern Ireland and I now have a EU/Irish passport.
Can I now visit Spain and or stay for unlimited periods as an EU passport holder? Or maybe buy somewhere in Spain again? The great thing right now is I can come and go through passport control with no hold ups.

Any advice welcome re Residencia would be very welcome.

Regards

David O

markwilding
Andalucia Guru

Re: Residencia and/or visiting restrictions

Postby markwilding » Tue Feb 14, 2023 9:55 pm

If you have an Irish passport, you are an EU citizen so the 90 day rule does not apply to you and residence is much easier. Ireland is not in Schengen so just remember to use the Irish passport when entering the Schengen area.

David 0’Leary
Tourist

Postby David 0’Leary » Wed Feb 15, 2023 5:51 pm

Thanks for your input Mark - I thought I’d get a more updated view as I haven’t been in Spain for quite some time now.
I had also forgotten Schengen but I always use my Irish passport now in the EU.

I see that you are in Northern Spain - an interesting part to be in and so different to Andalusia. I considered that general area a few years back.

Cheers

David O

Cádiz
Resident

Postby Cádiz » Fri Feb 17, 2023 10:09 am

markwilding wrote: Tue Feb 14, 2023 9:55 pm If you have an Irish passport, you are an EU citizen so the 90 day rule does not apply to you and residence is much easier. Ireland is not in Schengen so just remember to use the Irish passport when entering the Schengen area.

You said Irish passport, can we have two passports at the same time?

markwilding
Andalucia Guru