Smarty BBC

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Smarty BBC

Postby Unicorn » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:32 pm

I got an email saying that Smarty have unblocked BBC (and other) channels and, indeed, they have and it works.

I have mine via NOW TV :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby El Cid » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:53 pm

But for how long? They seem to have far more problems with the BBC than the other DNS suppliers.

Sid

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7507
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby gerryh » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:08 pm

Are there any DNS suppliers who don't have a problem with the BBC?
I changed from Smarty DNS to Smart DNS.
Been very reliable but lately using Smart DNS on my Android phone I can watch programmes on BBC iPlayer but I can't download them.
I reported the problem and "they are aware of it and are working on it"
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6751
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby markwilding » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:43 pm

I don't think any of them are absolutely perfect so I use more than one.

I tend to use Smarty's VPN app on my mobile and Fire TV. It allows me to download BBC radio and watch over 4G and Smart DNS for the rest.

This thread reminded me to pay the Smarty yearly invoice that they sent me at the weekend. I pay 13.45 dollars annually so chopping and changing around has its benefits. I pay a similar amount to Smart DNS

Superplonk
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: Coin

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby Superplonk » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:57 am

Trickbyte and Getflix work.

Chunky Monky
Resident
Posts: 1680
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:17 am

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby Chunky Monky » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:20 am

I use Smarty DNS but only use the VPN set to London2 and it always works for BBC, ITV, C4 and Ch5.

Unicorn
Resident
Posts: 1553
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 5:06 pm
Location: Estepona

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby Unicorn » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:10 pm

I've just been looking at Trickbyte as Smarty has gone again.

Is it possible to have two on the same laptop, to use on Now TV boxes.

How easy is it to install? And do you have to change anything in the router?

And any other advice welcome obviously :wave: :wave: :wave: :wave:

Superplonk
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: Coin

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby Superplonk » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:13 pm

I believe that certain routers let you put the dns details directly in the settings, so the whole house is covered. I prefer to set it device by device, as I don't mind where some of them think I really am. The instructions are quite clear on the website for many different kinds of computer, phone, tablet, tv box etc.

User avatar
firsttango
Resident
Posts: 1364
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Velez-Malaga

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby firsttango » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:18 pm

Tickbyte have a comprehensive set up instructions page at their website. You will need to install the DNS into your Router to enable you to use the NOWTV box as you cannot access the DNS setting within this particular device.

https://www.trickbyte.com/how-to-set-up/

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 14882
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Smarty BBC

Postby El Cid » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:40 pm

I agree, if you can change the routers DNS that is preferable and 90% at least of all routers allow this and it is very easy to do. A VPN is a different thing altogether. Most devices and routers do not allow you to set up a VPN. VPN routers are rare and generally expensive. A VPN rarely offers anything that a DNS will not do unless you really need Internet privacy and you certainly do not need that to watch TV. Also if you have a slow connection the drop in speed can seriously affect the TV stream.

Some devices such as iPhones and iPads allow a VPN (and I assume that applies to Android devices as well) but most other devices do not.

Sid


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests