Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
fyfin
Resident
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Turre Almeria

Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby fyfin » Thu Aug 31, 2023 11:06 pm

I'm with Plusnet and want to access the router e.g. to change WIFI password. They did an upgrade recently and tell me that the login is now exactly as on the label on the bottom of the router.
However, I have tried numerous times, different browsers, wifi, cable although I couldn't see how any of that would make any difference as I was able to access the login page but just got incorrect user name/ password combination being very careful to use the details exactly as on the label. Actually I tried a few other combinations as well.
I don't suppose anyone here is with Plusnet and can have a try - it's 192.168.18.1 User name Epuser password userEp . Huawei routers.
A man likes his wife to be just clever enough to appreciate his cleverness, and just stupid enough to admire it

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9479
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby Enrique » Fri Sep 01, 2023 7:49 am

Good morning fyfin,

Sounds like there was a clitch on the update..........

Which Hub / Router model do you have :?:

So far I've not come accross any issues reported.

You may have to do a Factory Reset .......... have you made any changes previously that would be lost doing this :?:
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

User avatar
fyfin
Resident
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Turre Almeria

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby fyfin » Fri Sep 01, 2023 8:23 am

Exactly what I think. The problem is no other customer is interested or technical enough to want to touch it. For example someone told me they had changed their wifi password and I asked how did they access the router, they said they went into the office and they did it for them lol. I can't do a factory reset as it will lose settings that Plusnet have set up (it's Fibre Optic so I guess more comlicated).
Local forums are a waste of time, there's loads of Plusnet customers here but no-one seems to want to just try and log into the router - I explained they don't need to do anything, just see if they can log in using the info on the label (which is what Plusnet told me - before they had their own log in which worked user Plusnet and a long password).
The router or GPON terminal is a Huawei Echolife EG8145 V5 the login is as I said earlier. All I really want to ascertain is whether this problem is peculiar to me or is widespread but seems impossible to get an answer.
Some idiot (trying to be helpful on a local forum) was asking me if I had a vpn, and try a different browser, other suggestions were to try a different IP address etc . It's simply a username and password issue, my guess is they have changed it from the default on the router and don't want customers to access but I believe you should have the right to do it e.g. to change wifi password without them knowing it or to use a dns server.
A man likes his wife to be just clever enough to appreciate his cleverness, and just stupid enough to admire it

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 9479
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Mytchett/Alcala La Real

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby Enrique » Fri Sep 01, 2023 11:28 am

Hi fyfin,

EG Series

The default user name and password for common users are Epuser and userEp, respectively. 'Like what you Posted'

Contact your ISP and tell them that since the Update the Router dosen't work....... send out a new one !

"Our award-winning support team go the extra mile 7 days a week to look after you."................. chuck this in as well

Go Public on their Facebook page about the " service "............or lack of it !!
All my best learning experiences start with a problem I need to solve.

User avatar
chrissiehope
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3668
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 7:52 pm
Location: Cheshire & near Antequera

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby chrissiehope » Fri Sep 01, 2023 1:27 pm

Sorry, I don't want to mess with my router, which appears to be a self-branded one just says Plusnet), but I've always found Plusnet very helpful if I call them (0800 432 0200 from UK landline - it may be different from Spain)
Alexandr for President (Squire for PM !)

Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend.
Inside of a dog it's too dark to read (Groucho Marx)

User avatar
fyfin
Resident
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Turre Almeria

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby fyfin » Fri Sep 01, 2023 2:40 pm

LOL Chrissie, that's the problem, most people like yourself would never even attempt to access the router. It really does no harm whatsoever to just try and log in but I do understand not everyone is tech savvy. You're right that they are very helpful and I haven't given up, in fact, they've asked me to bring the router in, probably because they think I am doing something wrong (I'm not!) but I'll do that and see what happens.
Enrique, I'm waiting to see what happens when I take it in lol. I'll post the result.
A man likes his wife to be just clever enough to appreciate his cleverness, and just stupid enough to admire it

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7771
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby markwilding » Thu Sep 07, 2023 7:22 pm

You could try this without accessing your router's settings. I can change the WIFI password on my Router by signing into my client area on my ISP website. It is also possible on the ISP app I have on my phone. I can only change the WIFI password, not the Router name and password but it sounds is if that's all you need.
Another way is to phone your ISP and they can access your router remotely and make the changes for you.

User avatar
fyfin
Resident
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:31 pm
Location: Turre Almeria

Re: Acessing Plusnet Router - Huawei

Postby fyfin » Fri Sep 08, 2023 11:58 am

I'm afraid the client area on Plusnet is very basic - no chance of changing WiFi password. I have been round a friend's house who is also with PlusNet and tested if I could access his router and of course I couldn't, so that's at least 3 I know of.
I don't know what they think they can do if I bring my router into the office but it might be fun to watch them try lol. They probably think I'm just entering the password wrongly.
A man likes his wife to be just clever enough to appreciate his cleverness, and just stupid enough to admire it


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest