Government - Andalucian Political Parties

Andalucia Regional elections

Parties and Candidates for the president of the Junta de Andalucia in the 2015 elections

by Chris Chaplow

In the March 2015 regional elections there were about 25 parties standing in at least one province. Here is an overview of each of the main parties. Click on the name at the begining of the text to read more details.


The Spanish Workers' Socialist Party is centre-left and its Andalucian branch is very appealing to many workers across this region, in particular those in the inland rural areas and some of the cities. The party has governed Andalucia since its creation in 1982.


PP - Partido popular

The "Popular Party" is Spain's conservative party. This party has been fighting to win majority of the Andalucian parliament and form a government, but so far has been unable to win the necessary support. Coastal cities and towns in Andalucia are considered to be closer to the Popular Party. The party has difficulty connecting with a working class that has traditionally made up the bulk of Andalucian society.



"United Left" is formed of groups of the communist party and other far left factions under a united front. While some towns might be headed by United Left, this party has been considered the third force in Andalucia politics.



Podemos is the far-left political party (translated into English as 'We Can') founded last year by charismatic political science lecturer Pablo Iglesias, elected to the European Parliament in May 2014 when Podemos burst onto the political scene.  Teresa Rodriguez (34), a Spanish language and literature teacher from Rota (Cadiz), was among the founding leaders. Its place in polls ranges from first to third.


This Andalucista regional party was a minority force in Andalucia politics but has lost ground since the 2008 elections when it joined forces with the PSA (Partido Socialista de Andalucia, or Andalucian Socialists) as well as other smaller parties to form the Coalición Andalucísta (CA) and lost all of its representatives in the regional parliament.


The Union, Progress and Democracy Party, formed in 2007, is a social liberal party that rejects nationalism (including Basque and Catalan) and wants to adopt a system of European federalism, along with a proportional voting system. Its roots lie in the Basque Country and anti-ETA civic associations. Prominent members include former PSOE MEP Rosa Diez. The party is not defined as left or right with active members on both ends of the spectrum.


Cuidadanos is relatively new party whose origins lie in Catalunia as a platform of intellectuals who felt they were not represented by the traditional parties. On 7th June 2005 they presented their first manifesto and their objective to form a political party. In July 2006 they celebrated their first congress. Nationally C's have 350 groups, and 75,000 registered members and 2 MEPs.


Other parties 8

Other parties with candidates presenting in all eight provinces

Falange Española de las JONS (FE de las JONS): Nemesio Romero Estévez.

Partido Animalista Contra el Maltrato Animal (PACMA): Francisco Javier Sanabria Moya.

Partido Comunista de los Pueblos de España (PCPE): José Martínez León.

Recortes Cero: Francisco Javier Arias Carmon.

VOX: Francisco Serrano52

Other parties 1+

Other parties with candidates presenting in at least one province.

Cámbialo: Manuel Emilio Ruiz Álvarez.

Ciudadanos Libres Unidos (CILUS): Alfonso González Gallego.

Escaños en Blanco (EB): María del Carmen Carmona Delgado (Córdoba) y Francisco Javier Pascial Ortolá (Granada).

Local y global (L.Y.G.): José Guillermo Chacón Montes.

Neodemocratas: David Ingelmo Rodríguez.

Partido Bienestar de la Gente (PBG): José Manuel Motos Galera.

Partido Regionalista por Andalucía Oriental (PRAO): Miguel Ángel Rus Casado.

Partido Republicano Independiente Solidario Andaluz (RISA): Antonio Ángel Pérez Rodríguez.

Partido del Trabajo y la Justicia (PTJ): Blas Manuel Soriano González.

Por un Mundo Más Justo (PUM+J):

Pueblo Nacionalista de Andalusí (PNdA): Francisco Fuentes Sier.

Socialistas y Republicanos (SYR): José María Ollero Centeno.