Davis Cup Finals, Malaga November 2023

Davis Cup Finals in Malaga 2023  © Michelle Chaplow
Davis Cup Finals in Malaga 2023

Davis Cup Finals, Malaga - November 2023

Davis Cup Final, 21-26 November 2023
Malaga played host to the final stage - seven team meetings in total, featuring the last eight teams - of this men's international competition. Described as the World Cup of tennis, the Davis Cup features the world's 18 top-ranked national teams (known as the World Group).

The action at Malaga's Palacio de Deportes José Maria Martin Carpena starts with four quarter-final ties (elimination matches) on 21-23 November 2023: Canada, the current world champions, take on Finland on 21 November, while Czechia compete against Australia (22 November); on 23 November, Italy play the Netherlands, and Serbia face Britain.

The semi-finals took place on 24 and 25 November and the final on 26 November, with Italy the winning team crowned Davis Cup Champions.

Jannik Sinner gave Italy its second Davis Cup. The world No. 4 and recent runner-up at the ATP Finals beat 12th-ranked Australian Alex de Miñaur 6-3, 6-0, in one hour and 21 minutes. This second victory was 47 years after Adriano Panatta, Corrado Barazutti and Paolo Bertolucci lifted the trophy after defeating Chile. Jannik Sinner had staged a memorable performance in the semifinals knocking out Serbia by winning three match points against Novak Djokovic.

Following a successful tournament it was anounced by organisors ITF the overall attendance was 70.000 accross the seven day sessions in the 11.000 capacity stadium. The 2024 edition of the Finals would also take place in Malaga, with an option on the 2025 edition.



Davis Cup Background

The Davis Cup, named after its founder Dwight F. Davis, began as a friendly international tennis competition between the United States and the British Isles in 1900. It was conceived as a means to promote goodwill among nations through the sport of tennis. The inaugural event was held at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston.

Over the years, the Davis Cup evolved, expanding its format and welcoming a growing number of countries. By the mid-20th century, the competition had established itself as a premier event, attracting the world's best players. The unique aspect of the Davis Cup lies in its team-oriented format, with countries competing against each other in a knockout-style tournament.

In 2019, the Davis Cup underwent a significant transformation, shifting from its traditional home-and-away format to a centralized event known as the Davis Cup Finals.

The 2023 Davis Cup Final 8 in Malaga follows a series of elimination matches between the 18 members of the World Group. , culminating in the selection of the final eight nations.

The first round of finals took place from 12 to 17 September 2023 in four groups of four teams each in four locations; Bologna (Italy), Manchester (Great Britain), Valencia (Spain) and Split (Croatia). The 16 teams comprised the 2 finalists from the 2022 Finals (Australia and Canada), two wild card teams (Italy and Spain) and the 12 winners of the qualifying rounds in February 2023.

Final Eight Countries in Malaga

The final eight countries playing in Malaga are:

  1. Spain: As the host nation, Spain automatically secured a place in the finals. The Spanish team, led by tennis legend Rafael Nadal. With the home crowd behind them, Spain is poised to be a strong contender for the title.
  2. Serbia: Serbia, led by world No. 1 Novak Djokovic, has consistently been a dominant force in the Davis Cup.
  3. Russia: The Russian team boasts a deep pool of talented players, including Daniil Medvedev and Andrey Rublev.
  4. Germany: Germany, led by Alexander Zverev, is a strong contender in the finals.
  5. Australia: Australia, with its rich tennis history. Led by Nick Kyrgios, the team has the potential to surprise many opponents.
  6. Italy: Players like Matteo Berrettini and Jannik Sinner provide Italy with a balanced roster.
  7. Argentina: Guided by Diego Schwartzman, the Argentine team is eager to leave its mark in Malaga.
  8. Great Britain: Great Britain, with stars like Andy Murray is a nation that commands respect in the world of tennis.

Related Tennis Pages


See and Do