Provinces of Andalucia

The eight provinces of Andalucia © Michelle Chaplow
The eight provinces of Andalucia. © Michelle Chaplow

Do you know in which of the 8 provinces the photos above were taken? Click here for Answer


Provinces of Andalucia

There are eight provinces in Andalucia: (from east to west) Huelva, Sevilla, Cádiz, Córdoba, Granada, Málaga, Jaén, and Almería. Each province has a capital city of the same name.

Málaga, Granada, and Almeria have a Mediterranean coastline - Costa del Sol, Costa Tropical and Costa Almeria. Cadiz province also has a stretch of Mediterranean coastline in the Campo de Gibraltar area.

Each province has a wide variety of landscapes which vary from flat coastal area, to gently rolling hills, fields planted with trees such as orange, olive and almond, and majestic snow-capped mountains (Granada, with its ski resort, Malaga and Jaen), and even semi-desert (Almeria).

Huelva is the only province with an international border - Portugal, to the west; while Seville and Córdoba are bordered by the Spanish region of Extremadura to the north; Cordoba, Granada and Jaen by Castilla La Mancha; and to the north-east, Granada and Almeria by Murcia.

Map of Provinces and Coasts

Map of the provinces and coasts of Andalucia
Map of the provinces and coasts of Andalucia

Size and government

The largest Andalucian province by both area (km2) and population is Seville, while the smallest in terms of these same criteria is Huelva.

Each province has its own government called 'Diputación Provincial', whose provincial councillors are indirectly elected by municipal councils, based on the results of municipal elections.

History of the provinces of Andalucia

The provinces were created in 1833 as part of an overall restructure of Spain, when the four kingdoms of Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Jaen were divided into eight provinces in total: Seville, Cadiz and Huelva were created in the former Seville Kingdom; and Granada, Malaga and Almeria provinces in what had been Granada Kingdom.

Some towns originally belonging to one Kingdom were absorbed into a different province. Archidona and Antequera, now in Malaga, had previously been Seville Kingdom; Grazalema and Setenil, in Cadiz, were formerly part of Granada; some towns in Murcia and La Mancha, as well as the so-called "new towns" in the Sierra Morena, became part of Jaen.

The province is a now Spanish administrative demarcation recognised in the Spanish Constitution of 1978. There are currently a total of fifty provinces in Spain and two autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla in North Africa.

The provinces of Andalucia, Spain

Granada Province

Granada province is characterised by extreme variables in landscape and climate, to the extent that you can even ski in the mountains in the morning, and then go diving in the sea in the afternoon. When you've explored the magnificent city of Granada, with its majestic Alhambra palace, venture further afield: visit cave dwellings in a desolate desert-like area, climb the Iberian Peninsula's highest mountains, and lose yourself in the region's rich Moorish history and fortified palaces.

Huelva Province

Huelva is one of the least-visited regions in Andalucía, but it has many unique places to discover and explore, from cork oak-covered hills, to deserted beaches. Indeed, this province's escape from mass tourism is one of its main attractions. It lies at the western edge of Andalucía, bordered by Portugal to the west, Seville province to the east and the region of Extremadura to the north.

Jaén Province

Jaén is probably best known for its abundance of olive trees which dominate the landscape and punctuate the horizon, interspersed by stark white-washed farms and houses against a deep orange backdrop; the colour of the soil. This province is the world's leading producer of olives and olive oil.

Cadiz Province

Cadiz province has some of Andalucia's most windswept beaches, prettiest white villages, and most celebrated Spanish wine: Sherry. It also boasts one of the region's most-visited protected areas and the rainiest place in Spain: the Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park. Its coastline has long been peppered with fishing ports that were established by the Phoenicians, Greeks and Romans.

Andalucian province - ISO alpha codes

  • HU = Huelva
  • SE = Seville
  • CO = Cordoba
  • J = Jaen
  • CA = Cadiz
  • MA = Malaga
  • GR = Granada
  • AL = Almeria

Andalucian province number codes

There is also a set of two-digit Spanish province codes published by the INE (Instituto Nacional de Estadística) and used by most government departments. Correos, the Spanish postal service, also uses these numbers as the first two digits of the five-digit postal codes. The origin is an alphabetical order of the names of the provinces in Spanish.

  • 04 = Almeria
  • 11 = Cadiz
  • 14 = Córdoba
  • 18 = Granada
  • 21 = Huelva
  • 23 = Jaén
  • 29 = Málaga
  • 41 = Seville

Coasts of Andalucia