Header Banner - Google Adsense

Clone of Cycle Racing - Vuelta a Andalucia 2017


The Vuelta a Andalucia or Ruta del Sol 2017 took place in five stages from the 15th to 19th February 2017.

The stages were:

Wed, 15 Feb, Stage  1: Rincón de la Victoria - Granada (155 Km)
Thur 16 Feb, Stage 2: Torredonjimeno - Mancha Real (177.9km)
Fri 17 Feb, Stage 3:  Lucena (11km)
Sat 18 Feb, Stage 4:   La Campana - Sevilla (179.3)
Sun 19 Feb, Stage 5: Setenil de las Bodegas - Coin (151.5km) 

There were 21 teams taking part from 12 countries including Lotto Soudal, Movistar, Team Sky, Tinkoff-Saxo. Team Sky riders were Vasil Kiryienka, Christian Kneees, Mikel Landa Meana, David Lopez Garcia, Mikel Nieve Iturralde, Wout Poels, Diego Rosa.  

The heavy rain showers and gusting wind that plagued the final stage of the Ruta del Sol could not stop Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) from celebrating the 100th victory of his career, as the Spanish veteran successfully kept his overall lead of one second intact all the way to the finish line in Coin.   This was his fifth consecutive Vuelta a Andalucia victory having won in the last four that he took part in namely 2016,  2014, 2013, 2012.