Cycle Racing in Andalucia

Vuelta de Andalucia 2012 passed through Estepona. © Michelle Chaplow
Vuelta de Andalucia 2012 passed through Estepona.

Cycle Racing in Andalucia

The three main professional cycle races in the Andalucia cycling calendar are the Tour of Spain, known as La Vuelta; the Tour of Andalucia, also known as the Vuelta a Andalucia or Ruta Ciclista del Sol; and the one-day Clasíca de Almería. On a more local level, there is La Sufrida.



La Vuelta (Tour of Spain)

La Vuelta road cycle race takes place over three weeks in August and September each year and usually includes a few stages in Andalucia. It is one of the three Grand Tours in Europe, along with the Tour of Italy and the Tour de France, and is also on the UCI world tour. About 200 cyclists take part from about 20 teams.

The ongoing winner wears a red jersey to signify his lead, similar to the yellow jersey in the Tour de France. The colour of the leader's jersey has changed many times over the history of the race (it started over 70 years ago), but since 2010 it has been red. Other classifications have taken on the same colours as the Tour de France: a white jersey with blue marks on honours the 'King of the Mountains' or best climber; the green jersey is for the current top sprinter (based on points); a white jersey is worn by the combined points leader; and the leading team sports grey jerseys.   More>


The "Vuelta a Andalucía" also called  Ruta del Sol is a regional Spanish road cycle race held annually since 1955. It is normally held in February. Since 2005, it has been a 2.1 category race on the UCI European Tour. The race takes place over five stage days. It does not command anything like the spectators not the television and media coverage of La Vuelta, however it is still worth following online or by the roadside.  More>

Clasica de Almeria

The Clásica de Almería is a single-day race held annually in February or March, starting and finishing in Almeria City. Since 2005, the race has been organised as a Cat 1.1 event on the UCI Europe Tour. The race was established in 1986 as an amateur event and in 1992 it became fully professional.

La Sufrida (Cicloruta Internacional Serrania de Ronda)

'Sufrida' translates literally into English as "long-suffering" and this is a race that definitely makes its participants suffer. The 193km route leads its 800 riders around the mountainous area of Serrania de Ronda, taking them up to an altitude of nearly 1200m above sea-level. There have been 17 editions and the start and finish  can be in different villages in the Serrania de Ronda.

Organised by the La Sufrida sports club since the 9th edition, La Sufrida's official title is "Cicloruta Internacional Gran Fondo Serranía de Ronda-La Sufrida"  traditionally takes place on first Saturday in June ( Edition 2016 - June 4th) starting in the Constitution Square of El Gastor village at 08.00hrs. If you are interesting in taking part, that reace is open to non federated amateurs for 45€  here are the regulations in Englsh.

1ª Parte:  El Gastor , Algodonales (9,5km) , Zahara de la Sierra (16,5km), Puerto de Las Palomas (27,5km), Grazalema (34km), Villaluenga del Rosario (46km), Benaocaz (52km), Ubrique (57,5km), El Bosque (68,5km), Puerto del Boyar (85,5km), Puerto de Las Palomas por 2ª vez (90), Montecorto (116km) , Los Villalones (124,5km) y el Gastor ,km 133, 
and the second part for those that want to suffer more. 

2ª Parte: El Gastor (km 133), Venta La Vega ( km 153) , Montejaque ( km 160), Benaoján (km 162), 4º Tercio de La Legión ( km 171), Puerto del Sauco (km 183), Los Villalones por 2ª vez (km 192), El Gastor.