Cóbdar is situated within the Filabres mountain range, where many cave engravings and paintings have been discovered, similar to those in Chercos. It has around 140 inhabitants.
The town’s name comes from the Arabic qawda, which means ‘high mountain peak’, referring to the white marble hill of La Piedra. Abundant remains from a Neolithic settlement from 3,000 BC have been found in La Cueva del Castillico. All these pieces are on show at the Archeological Museum of Almería. The remains of Alcazaba and a cistern of the Al-Andalus period have been found at the peak of La Piedra.
With the Christian Re-conquest of the late fifteenth century, the Catholic Monarchs gave this town to the Count of Tendilla, who in turn sold it to the Bishop of Málaga, Don Diego Ramírez de Villaescusa de Haro and Don Alonso Carrillo. Cóbdar was involved in the Moorish uprisings between 1568 and 1570. Once the battle was over, this entire area was depopulated through the expulsion of the Moors and subsequently repopulated in 1573.
The remains of blacksmiths have been found along the Los Molinos River, dating to the seventeenth century. There would once have been an iron factory in the area. Elsewhere the municipality, iron mines were exploited until the mid-1950s. At present, the rise of the marble industry and the development of mountain tourism are revitalising the local economy.
THINGS TO SEE
Las Morerías is a small, labyrinthine old quarter of Cóbdar, characterized by its tiny alcoves and narrow streets of Arab origin, with whitewashed houses in the traditional Andalusian style. Hidden among leafy terraced hillsides and by the huge rock mass that shelters the town, Las Morerías is so restful and charming that it almost feels like a living nativity scene. The quarter is best accessed via Calle del Cid.
The public washing areas of these small villages are places of great ethnological interest which transport us to another era, in which these facilities were social sites, spaces where daily chores facilitated the exchange of conversations and local news. Cóbdar’s can be found on Calle de Vecinal Chercos.
Iglesia de Santa María
The church dates to the seventeenth century and is located in Plaza de la Constitución.
Parque Recreativo La Fuente
This recreational area was once home to iron mines that were exploited in the town several decades ago. It now features a wheel for water extraction and parkland for the enjoyment of both adults and children, as well as a picnic site and the public washing area. Located on Calle de la Fuente.
Sendero SL-A 16 Camino del Río Los Molinos
This 7km circular route runs through the most beautiful and charming surrounding countryside, crossing iron mines and the Los Molinos River and passing through a pine forest.
In this Almerian town, visitors can enjoy dishes such as migas (fried bread with pork), puchero (stew made with either chickpeas or white beans), caldo de huevos (egg broth), gurullos (pasta stew), trigo guisado (stewed wheat), remojón (bread soaked in milk) and fritada de sangre (fried black pudding). For those who enjoy desserts, Cóbdar will not disappoint with sweets such as suspiros (meringues), almendrados (almond cakes), roscos de naranja (orange biscuits) and torrijas (eggy bread soaked in honey).
The arts and crafts scene in Cóbdar is practically non-existent, although some older people dedicate their free time to working with esparto grass.
Popular festivals in Cóbdar are the Fiestas Patronales en Honor a San Sebastián, Fiestas de la Virgen de la Piedad and Semana Santa. More>