|El Calvario, Estepona|
The hermitage building was built at the beginning of the nineteenth century, with records dating back to 1829.
It is believed that this hermitage was at first constructed for lepers who were encouraged to reside out of town. Since 1875, however, the site was established as a sacred building.
The original building was distroyed in the Civil War in May 1936 and the present structure rebuilt after the Civil War. It was restored again in 2003. There is a small plaza infront of the small chapel which is kept locked. Casual visitors can peer in to see the virgin and altar through the iron railings.
Walking up to La Ermita del Calvario along Calle Funete de Maria Gil you will notice several unmarked white 'pilar box' size posts which represent the 12 stations of the cross. El Calvario is also the name of a public park at the corner of where Calle Funete de Maria Gil meets Avenida Andalucia. the park has pleasant shady seating areas with their gardens. The purple listeria is spetacular when it blooms in the spring.
Calle Funete de Maria Gil