Header Banner - Google Adsense

License Renewal

License Renewal

Anyone holding a Spanish drivers' license must renew the document according to the following schedule:

  • From the time you receive your license until you turn 45 years old, you must renew every 10 years
  • From the ages of 45 to 70, you must renew every 5 years
  • From the age of 70, you must renew every 2 years

Renewal involves paying a fee, of course, and passing physical and "psico-tecnico" exams. The first is often nothing more than a formality, while the second involves a machine similar to a video game.

The local medical centre where you undetake the medical exam will also submit you driving licence renewal application for you. This saves you having to do the application yourself at the DGT Traffico offices in your provincial capital city. The new licence will arrive in the post in few weeks. The medical centre will give you a reciept which can be used as a tempory lisence.

Location of DGT offices

Living in Andalucia