Sierra Norte

Sevilla Province Map
Seville Province Map

Sierra Norte

Sierra Norte is the name of a 'comarca' (region or area) in the north of the province of Seville. It is made up from 18 municipal districts and even more small villages.

The municipal districts are Alanís, Almadén de la Plata, Aznalcóllar, Castilblanco de los Arroyos, El Castillo de las Guardas, Cazalla de la Sierra, Constantina, El Garrobo,  El Madroño, El Pedroso, El Real de la Jara, El Ronquillo, Gerena, Guadalcanal, Guillena, La Puebla de los Infantes, Las Navas de la Concepción and San Nicolás del Puerto.

Sierra Norte is bounded on the west by the Sierra de Aracena, to the north by Badajoz (Extremadura), to the east by Cordoba and to the south by Aljarafe and La Vega.

The largest town is Guillena, has a popular golf course.

Guillena is located close to the Club de Golf Hato Verde, therefore being an ideal location for keen golfers. It has about 12, 500 inhabitants.

Gerena is rich in archaeological remains, famous Andalusian architecture and unique landscape which consist mostly of abandoned quarries. It is the perfect destination for nature lovers and… More →

Castilblanco de los Arroyos is home to the avant-garde building, Miguel Fisac Municipal Theatre, a structure of cubes that, as an architectural piece and a modern construction, looks beautiful. It… More →

Aznalcóllar was previously known as 'Iptucci' by the Romans, who used this area extensively for mining pyrite. It has about 6,100 inhabitants.

San Nicolás del Puerto is another one of the province's natural havens. Home to two beautiful enclaves that have been declared natural monuments: Cascadas del Huesna and Cerro del Hierro. It is… More →

Las Navas de la Concepción started as a dependant village of Constantina half way through the sixteenth century, previously known as Las Navas de las Puercas. It has about 1600 inhabitants.

La Puebla de los Infantes is very well known within the hunting community due to it being home to one of the most important caza mayor (large game) hunting reserves in Spain, El Coto de El Aguila… More →

El Ronquillo takes its name from the proprietor who, in the fifteenth century, made two roadside cafes/bars that made the foundations for the municipality. It has been awarded the Nacional de… More →

El Real de la Jara forms part of the Parque Natural de la Sierra Norte de Sevilla (natural park), which makes it an ideal spot for nature lovers and outdoor activity enthusiasts. At certain points… More →

El Pedroso is of particular interest to rural tourism lovers and also to those interested in outdoor activities, such as hunting, fishing or hiking. The village is also part of the Parque Natural… More →

Almadén de la Plata is set within the Comarca Sierra Norte area of Seville province, to the west of Cazalla de la Sierra. It has about 1,500 inhabitants.

Sierra Norte is the name of a 'comarca' (region or area) in the north of the province of Seville. It is made up from 18 municipal districts and even more small villages.

The northernmost settlement on the edge of the the Sierra del Norte Natural Park, Guadalcanal is a pretty village with several Mudéjar churches and a ruined medieval castle and walls. It has about… More →

El Madroño sits directly on the Ruta de la Plata, in a peaceful area surrounded by parkland and trees. It has about 350 inhabitants.

Cazalla de la Sierra is the second-largest town in the Sierra Norte Natural Park. It boasts one of the finest churches in the Sierra Morena, as well as grand mansions, several monasteries,… More →

El Castillo de las Guardas is situated in the north west of the Seville province and consists of 10 other hamlets within its municipal: La Alcornocosa, Archidona, Arroyo de la Plata, La Aulaga,… More →

El Garrobo is one of the smallest villages in the province of Seville, occupying a transition space between the regions of Aljarafe and the Sierra Norte. It has about 800 inhabitants.

Alanís is set within the Comarca Sierra Norte of the Seville province, north of Cazalla de la Sierra. Only several kilometres from the border of Andalusia to Extremadura, it has about 1850… More →

Constantina is the largest town in the Sierra Norte de Sevilla Natural Park. Originally a Celtic settlement and an important Roman town, it has lots of medieval character particularly in the maze… More →

Book Hotels in Sierra Norte