Health - Coronavirus in Andalucia, News

Preparing for the new normality in Andalucia, .  © Michelle Chaplow
Preparing for the new normality in Andalucia,

Coronavirus in Costa del Sol and Andalucia

Page and section last updated Saturday 11-07-2020 at 16.45 hrs.

Travel news

11-07-2020 Juanma Moreno, the President of the Junta de Andalucia announced in Ceuta that on Monday he would propose to the Technical-Medical committee that the wearing of face masks in public should be made obligatory. This follows similar rules in Catalonia and Extremadura Regions. At present the wearing of masks is only compulsory if a social distance of 1.5m cannot be maintained.

10-07-2020 British government from today relaxed quarantine restrictions on a list of countries and territories including Spain. Those arriving into England & Wales and Northern Ireland will NOT have to self isolate for 14 days. This exemption also applies to Spanish Nationals and foreign residents who wish to visit or return to England. Lists for Scotland are still to be published.

Spain relaxed its quarantine restriction to travellers from Britain and other EU countries on 14-06-20. However all arrivals, regardless of Nationality or departure country, are required to complete a 'Spain Travel Health' form online and print the QR code and show it to immigration control. If you don't have the online form you will be required to complete a form at the control.

Updated statistics

There have been 18.247 positive tests in Andalucia, up 182 in previous week. There have been 1.446 deaths in Andalucia, up 5 in previous week. Confirmed cases that required hospital admission in Andalucia total 6.364, up 27 on previous week. Confirmed cases that require intensive care admission in Andalucia number 784, up 6 in previous week.

The Costa del Sol (health district) has recorded 1.093 confirmed cases, of which 12 were in the last 14 days.  Costa del Sol (health district) has recorded 44 deaths, none in the last 14 days.

Estepona, Marbella, Mijas and Fuengirola have recorded 111, 421, 91 and 100 cases respectively since the beginning of the pandemic of which 1, 2, 1 and 4 were in the last 14 days respectively. Estepona, Marbella, Mijas and Fuengirola, have recorded 4, 15, 4, and 3 deaths since the start of the pandamit respectively.


The following municipalities in Malaga province have not recorded any cases. Istán, Tollox, Serrato, Carratraca, Alfanatejo, El Borge, in Serrania de Ronda; Gaucin, Benarraba, Jubrique, Juzcar, Pujerra, Farajan, Cartajima, Parauta, Alpandeire, Benadalid, Atejate, Jimera de Libar, Montejaque, Montecorto, Torre Alhaquime, in La Axarquia; Totalan, Macharaviaya, Iznate, Comares, Cutar, Vinuela, Canillas de Acetuna, Sedella, Salares, Canillas de Albaida, Archez, Sayalonga.

Andalucia data above released 10-07-2020. Andalucia publishes Confirmed Cases, Deaths for the 33 primary Health Districts and Municipalities. This info can be seen here.

Historical data can be seen from the graphs onConfirmed cases, Hospitalised cases, Coronavirus Deaths. Read some good news stories.



Living in Andalucia tags